Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom not holding its position?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rotorhead42, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. rotorhead42

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a couple of light crashes and had to calibrate the compass, now I see the Phantom not holding its position when I release the stick. Does it have to do with a bad compass? it simply goes down if I release, almost went into a swimming pool on my last flight :cry:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. cczx14r

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might be an overkill, but you have to start somewhere in eliminating possible causes:
    -Calibrate your Tx
    -Calibrate your compass (outside)
    -Run the advanced IMU calibration from the software.
     
  3. rotorhead42

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did it all, still the Phantom can`t keep its hover position if I let go of the stick :(
     
  4. rotorhead42

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a spring loaded throttle stick and I do use GPS mode.... The stick does go to the center if released, but the phantom dives if I release the stick. In fact, to bring it up higher when it falls it takes me pulling the stick all the way up, not normal. Since I use it for work ( photo+video ) I`m already ordering a second one as back up.
     
  5. rotorhead42

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here`s some screenshots so anyone can help find the culprit: any parameters not normal? please advice.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Receiver type *should* be set as PPM, not D-BUS.

    You can also upgrade your NAZA assistant software which will then let you put the new 4.02 firmware on the NAZA. Just be sure to manually apply the phantom default settings file from the DJI website after you do the upgrade.
     
  7. Sterling500

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar issue with mine after I upgraded my gimbal mount. Turns out the gimbal was bouncing around and causing the motors to hunt while holding position. This caused the heli to move around. After I swapped the gimbal mounts the problem was 100% solved.

    Check the balance on your props or if you have anything that is adding vibration, this will cause the problem you are seeing.

    Dan
     
  8. rotorhead42

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I flew today, everything back to normal for 3 mins, hover`s back and then back to bad compass signal. Checked the compass physically and noticed it took a direct hit on a past crash, so I ordered a few replacements ( yep, have a few of those handy for future issues ). I did change the Tx type in the software assistant, thanks for the info.

    [​IMG]