Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom looses calibration

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by gbshovel, Mar 5, 2014.

  1. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    Original phantom looses calibration after 5 minutes.
    I connect to software calibrate everything checks out.
    I can take it outside right away and it flies fine.
    let it sit for 5 minutes and she flashes a constant yellow.
    If I just connect back to software everything is fine again until I let it sit.

    have latest updates and fresh batteries in TX .
     
  2. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    I will look closer at the TX maybe pair it with a newer one and see what happens.

    thanks
     
  3. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    Can you explain why the TX works perfectly fine when connected to pc?
    Kind of confirms it works. I can also force a compus calibration.

    It is a constant yellow flash in a series of 4.
     
  4. RogerClark

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sounds like exactly the same issue I have.

    After 5 mins the lights start flashing yellow

    As far as I can tell, the transmitter stops sending data or stops broadcasting after between 5 and 10 mins

    One test you can do, to see if its the phantom or the transmitter

    Turn on the TX, turn on the phantom - you should see a little green led near the middle of the phantom, and you should see green and red flashes on the main LEDS, as it looks for satellites

    Now turn off your phantom

    Leave the RC unit turned on.

    After about 10 mins, turn on the phantom again, and you may see a red light in the middle rather than a green one, and the main outer lights flash yellow.

    If this is the case, you have the same fault as me.

    How old is your Phantom, I've only had mine about 3 weeks, I wonder if its a manufacturing fault
     
  5. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    Getting flakey readings on the X1 plug in the receiver, which would translate to a TX fault.
    Will keep you posted.
     
  6. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    Re: Phantom looses calibration NON ISSUE

    Dumbass award !

    This version of phantom is the original, the series of yellow flashes occur during warm-up !
    Unlike my other phantom that flashed green and red during warm-up.
    The X1 jitter in the software I cant explain but is also a non issue as I am not using a gimbal.

    So it explains why everything acted and worked normal when hooked to the pc, because afterwards it was already warmed up.

    I got this as a package deal and just assumed it was like mine except for the TX and antenna . :oops: