Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom firmware update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by sandman259, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. sandman259

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    137
    So my p3a said needed a firmware update so I did that and it said all finished and to reboot everything. Which I assume means turn everything off and then back on again. No it says in my menu this? What does this mean and how do I update both of them?[​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    Can you still fly it without upgrading?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. sandman259

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    137
    Yes I still flew it and it seamed fine. I flew it earlier today no problems, then I decided for a night run and when I turned it on it started beeping like crazy. So I opened up the menu and it said firmware update and a few other updates along with the ones you see on the screen now. I did the update and everything went fine then when I turn it on and look on the menu it still says firmware update and you click on it and this pops up. Does that mean I have to plug a usb cable into the camera and then the drone and update through my computer or something?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. peterepeat69

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    110
    From my recent questions to the group it seems that updates are pointless I'd ignore it and just keep flying. I'm sure most people would agree with me.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Aircraft update will update the camera too. If aircraft was updated earlier and you have replaced the camera, better to downgrade FW first and then upgrade. Both will be synced and updated.
     
  6. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    Does anyone know what about the camera has been updated?
     
  7. Erroll

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    South Africa
    What do you recommend one does when installing an advanced gimbal/camera onto a professional?
     
  8. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I completed both updates a couple days ago. And both were successful. I don't know where you got a message to reboot everything as I never saw that. From knowing what to do. After the update. I took my sd card out of bird. Plugged it into reader to see text file and that is where I saw update was current and successful. I then placed it back in bird and never had a single issue. I knew it was done based on the the change in the beeps. Long beep then 2 beeps. During the update it was 4 beeps.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. chazz

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    36
    Seems like you just updated the transmitter...You have to update the phantom using an SD card...There are How To Videos on the DJI website or Youtube
     
  10. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    That's what it sounded like to me as well. For sure has to download file to computer to update. Copy to sd card. Which will be a bin file. Do not put in folder. Then place in bird where it will update. After completion. Put sd card back in computer for results. Op is not clear if he did all this.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Badfinger

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    S/W OHIO
    I got the same message when updating mine. I repeated the process and was successful the second time????
     
  12. sandman259

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    137
    Thanks for the responses guys. I figured it out last night. I updated the bird from my computer with the sd card and reinstalled like chazz mentioned...all is good now


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Tony Cowan likes this.
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If FW upgrade is available , go for FW for advance. Else downgrade to adv FW first and then upgrade back to adv FW.