Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom falling down

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by ghori, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a problem with my Phantom 2 (H3-3D GoPro) it keep falling down after ca. 4 minutes of flight
    At first the Ph. had a drop with a vortex ring state, after it there was no problem for a while, I thought that the fall was made by my mistake. Recently I took the Ph. out and after 4 min. or so the he fell agin speeding towards ground. Now the lights indicate only in yellow slow blinks (see atached movie) althoug he is finding the satellites.
    1) I tryed to reinstall the software for the phantom as well as the rc controller and it did not help.
    2) No loose things inside under the hood either.
    3) I recalibrated the compass
    4) I tryed Phantom and Naza mode (both are not working for me)
    5) the Phantom seems fine on the manual mode
    Has any one encountered such a problem or might have some information that would help me.

    Here is a screen from the FPV https://www.flickr.com/photos/134062527@N08/20903397581/in/datetaken
    here I uploaded a short film on which You can see how the lights (all swithes are up and the same light is when there are 6 or more satellites in view)
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    try it well away from the railings and i will take a guess that the concrete slab your on has rebar in it.
    try it in a nice open space, well away from anything metal
     
  3. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The environment is not the issue as I have tryed it in several places. I have put it on the balcony just for the purpouse of making the short movie normaly I would not try to fly it from there.
     
  4. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    Your screen shot shows only 4 satellites. That is why it also shows ATTI and you have yellow lights flashing.
     
  5. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, sorry for the trouble :( , today I will take it out and make some proper phtos to better picture the problem
     
  6. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    some more movies from today
    it didn't wont to go up, although after a while it did go up by itsealf and landed

    the GPS looks fine, I had in range 12 satellites: https://flic.kr/p/xQfFLw
     
  7. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    Your fast green flashing lights in the first video do not look normal. In the second video it doesn't look like the motors are spinning at the same speed but it's hard to tell on video.

    Have you done an advanced IMU calibration since the crashes? If not, do that. Also calibrate your RC and Phantom in the appropriate assistants.
     
  8. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have done the advance IMU calibration, all the controls in the assistance software are indicating that everything is correct also all the firmwares are up to date.
    And the motors on the video seem to not to be speeding on the same lavel, but that was not seen through the eye, this effect is only noticable on the video
     
  9. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Try a different battery. You may well have a failing cell after the first crash and although the voltage is holding up, the current delivery is not there.

    LiPos can sometimes exhibit this behavior and I note your battery is not fully charged. Maximum current delivery is required for launch, so I would never attempt a take off without a fully charged battery.
     
  10. ghori

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have two battery sets with both the drone behaves the same :(
     
  11. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Here's a video that show the startup sequence of a P2 in the phantom GPS mode. Read the description below the video.


    The next startup sequence was done in the Naza-M mode the in P2 software. For more info read the discription below the video
     
  12. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Pop the top look on the main board for any cracks .
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    It appears that you need to calibrate those sticks both in the RC and P2 software.. When calibrating the sticks in the P2 software the RC unit has to be turned on.