Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom determining elevation

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Dronebow, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Curious question I have that unfortunately since I live in the flat lands of Texas I can't test out.

    Does the P3 determine height based on where it started as being 0'? So, example... You are at the Grand Canyon and on top of the canyon you take off and then take your P3 down into the canyon valley. Will it show elevation of a negative value??

    Or... You start flying toward a mountain with the ground gradually gaining elevation as you get closer. If you fly up the face of the hill and hit the 400' max elevation but the hill is 500' high will it still continue to go up or will you be limited until you change the max height?
     
  2. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,531
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    If you fly below the take off point the height will show as a negative. Displayed height is _always_ reported from the take off height. If you are low enough (10 feet or less) and have VPS turned on than VPS will report the distance to the ground currently under the P3.
     
  3. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Yes to the negative value and you will be limited to he 400 foot maximum height, so you cant fly to the top unless you start higher on the mountain.
     
  4. Dronebow

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok, that makes sense. So change the max height if flying say from a canyon to a higher level or find a higher level to start from... :)
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Yes
     
  6. Colorado68

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    Had the same questions a while back as I was nervous about going over 400' and recording to the flight log exceeding the height limit. I'll fly up cliff faces and mountains here in Colorado frequently, starting at 0' flying up will soon show 700' for an altitude yet only 50' AGL.
     
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The 400' is so you don't collide with manned aircraft. If you're flying up the side of a mountain, it doesn't apply for obvious reasons.