Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom batteries on ebay (LCD INFO)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by robinb, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
  2. Monte55

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    517
    Location:
    Raymore Missouri
    They look cool.
     
  3. JamesG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I thought the P2 authenticated the DJI Battery and third party ones wouldn't work?
     
  4. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    There is a work around for that.
     
  5. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    Why don't you buy some and test them for us?! :)
     
  6. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    They look too cool. I broke down and ordered one. We shall see. Thanks for helping me part with my money. :)
     
  7. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10

    what's the work around??
     
  8. JamesG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you share details?
     
  9. justin00

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Australia
    few fair pages selling them.. amazing.. drone shops etc etc.... seeems to be real...maybe...
    kinda the same price for us AUS people though, but I guess you get the extra 200mah... hows the price diff for you UK/USA folks ?
     
  10. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    This is second hand information, but what I believe I read here, it can be done with a change in the assistant software. I hope that person will speak up because that is the limit of my knowledge. I'll certainly be trying to figure it out when my EBay battery arrives!
     
  11. Ozziebattler

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fernvale Queensland Australia
    I have a NukrRC 5400 that works fine its just that you dont hook your Phantom to the computer with one of these batteries in the machine only ever hook up with a OEM battery. cheers Jeff PS I am going to give one a try when it arrives I will let you know how it all panned out!
     
  12. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun

    Maybe silly question but what happens if you do ?
     
  13. Ozziebattler

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fernvale Queensland Australia
    I did it with my other Nuke battery and it bricked it so now its a paper weight
     
  14. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    It does try to see if its a dji battery or not. BUT some third party battery's have the right soft ware and data on them that the phantom thinks its a dji battery as long as you dont try to update the batterys firmware or try to update the naza firmware with the battery in when you update the naza firmware.

    BUT these battery's with the digital read outs on them looked cool when I first seen them on amazon a few weeks back and they have a disclaimer now saying these battery's no longer will not work at all any more sence the last phantom 2 firmware update. and there is no work around. (tho I would imagine if some one is still on the old naza firm ware they might still work)




    Tho there are other 3rd party battery's that will work as long as you dont try to up date your firmware with the after market battery's in the phantom. Lime fuel is one that works and the ones that didn't they have been very good to get corrected or people But the ones with digital read outs from the disclaimer they have and the comments i seen in the feedback it seems like lots of people got them that are SOL and bought some 99 paper weights that even say in the products desctiption that are paper weights before they even hit your mail box.



    WOW that sucks the big one. My nuke battery acts just like all my dji battery's do and says no firmware update for them and dont even let me update them. But in a way I guess thats good that my rc nuke will not let me even accidentally nuke it.

    My nuke battery says Version 1.06 same as the version of my dji batterys that will not update or let me use any of the cool features.

    Tho today when I was power cycling the nuke rc battery and ran it down to zero % I got pretty nervis when I plugged in the naza and a window poped up telling me I may have one of more damaged cells. Even tho it was full of crap. BUT luckily unlike any of the dji batterys the cells did not lock out from under voltage and it charged up fine and all 3 cells are perfect still and the message stopped poping up once I got the charge up past 8%
     
  15. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    corrction. The nuck rc battery that i have that did not brick its self and my di battery that dont update to the new battery firm ware say version 1.05 not 06
     
  16. Ozziebattler

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Fernvale Queensland Australia
    Well i bought one of these batteries,only took about a week to get to Aust. have flown with it 3 times now and it works perfect. Now this is a SMART battery it tells you voltage on each cell, overall voltage, flight time, overall battery life,counts each charge cycle,serial no,battery temp, the writing is a little small that's all. It shows all 3 cell voltage when its charging. Very clever and i got 20 mins easy just hovering and flying around the back yard.
     
  17. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    excellent.

    I was wondering how you got on.
     
  18. mendezl

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Mandeville (New Orleans) Louisiana, USA
    DJI should do this to the stock ones
     
  19. gword256

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Springfield, USA
    Is that a second charging port or some kind of serial connection?
     

    Attached Files:

    • $_57.JPG
      $_57.JPG
      File size:
      25.8 KB
      Views:
      154
  20. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    So do they work even with the newest DJI software updates??????