Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom aux power lead

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seedler, Jan 16, 2014.

  1. Seedler

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just bought a Fatshark teleporter fpv kit for my phantom. I wasn't gonna use the balance lead power adaptor. Just gonna connect to phantoms aux power cable. Is it ok to do this?

    It would be powering both the transmitter and camera. I have read were a few people said the aux wire wasn't heavy enough which could cause your phantom to burn.

    I would love the opinion of the forum before I do anything.

    Thanks,

    Dee.
     
  2. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    the aux lead carries enough power for both, it should be fine.

    Make sure your VTX accepts 3s (11-12v) power; it should. Make doubly sure your camera does as well, a lot of fpv cams are 5v I think. If that's the case but your vtx has a 5v v+ lead, you can power your camera through that.
     
  3. Seedler

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    ElGuano thanks for the fast reply.

    The instructions say between 7 and 13 volts, and the camera is powered from the transmitter, so I think I'm good there.

    So is there definitely no chance of these wires over heating?

    If I don't use the balance lead adaptor does this mean I'm loosing out on the filter? or are the aux leads already filtered?

    Cheers,

    Dee.
     
  4. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    "No chance" is a tall order to guarantee. But I run a 600mw vtx plus gimbal off mine and the wire is not even warm to the touch. If you want to check out wire gauge capacities at given amperages and shielding types, there are a few links out there. Alternatively, you could also solder a new or replacement aux lead off the motherboard, which I did (and I went to thinner wire).

    There is no filter either at the aux lead or from the battery balance connector. Both are driven directly from the cells.
     
  5. Seedler

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol I know what you mean.

    The fatshark balance lead adaptor has a small capacitor on it which it says is to filter out noise. Do you think it is really needed?

    Could soldering the capacitor in parallel to the aux wire do the same thing?

    Thanks for all your help :)

    Dee.
     
  6. reALIGNed

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Wisconsin
    Measure how many amps your pulling through the circuit and the tap in a small inline fuse of appropriate size. This way if you over load it, the fuse pops and your quad is not effected.