Phantom 4 Top Speed (Wind Assisted)

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the world of rc flying and have recently purchased a P4 and having lots of fun with it. I took the P4 out in very windy weather yesterday and managed to get 32 m/s out of it (115kmh or 71.5mph).I flew 2.8km along a very remote coastal area down wind when I realised that I couldn't make it back because of the head wind! I was forced to set it down 3kms away behind a deserted beach in knee deep grass. Now I had a 1hr hike along the cliff tops ahead of me to retrieve it, I did manage to find it and it suffered no damage. Lesson learnt! I now know to only fly up wind in these conditions.

Sounds like a positive day of flying since you had fun and didn't lose or damage your bird. Clear skies!

Sounds like a positive day of flying since you had fun and didn't lose or damage your bird. Clear skies!
Definitely was a nail biter but ended up ok in the end. I've got sore feet today from the hike though!

Reactions: ftttu
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to the world of rc flying and have recently purchased a P4 and having lots of fun with it. I took the P4 out in very windy weather yesterday and managed to get 32 m/s out of it (115kmh or 71.5mph).I flew 2.8km along a very remote coastal area down wind when I realised that I couldn't make it back because of the head wind! I was forced to set it down 3kms away behind a deserted beach in knee deep grass. Now I had a 1hr hike along the cliff tops ahead of me to retrieve it, I did manage to find it and it suffered no damage. Lesson learnt! I now know to only fly up wind in these conditions.

Nice, I was somehow able to get mine to a top speed of 84 mph the other day. It was flying!

Attachments

• 84 mph.jpg
    84 mph.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 384