Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Leif Johnston

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I am currently working in mining and seeking advice on whether or not the Phantom 4 is accurate enough for 3d mapping to achieve less then 5cm in 'XYZ' values.

    I am very new to drones but have been researching quite a bit over the last couple of months and just need a few things clarified before I can put together a proposal to my boss for the Phantom 4. As I am in mining cost is a big thing these days and well they don't want to spend anything so therefore I need a cheap drone that can do want I'm asking but within tolerances.

    My first thought was the Inspire with either the X5 or X5R camera as I know these cameras can deliver results but seeing the size of Phantom 4 camera I have my doubts. However the cost difference is quite dramatic, i.e. Phantom 4 will cost around $4k (AUD) total package and the Inspire will be around $8k. I have read on various forums and responding emails that the Phantom 4 will do the job, I just need to be 100% sure before I put this through to my boss...

    I will be using ground control stations to help achieve the results I'm chasing and also have been looking at Agisoft Photoscan Pro for the editing side of things. The main type of work I will be doing is stockpile surveys.

    Can someone please help me on this questions and what unit is better for achieving this and share there own experiences and what settings they have used.

    Thanks in advanced.

    Leif
     
  2. Teo Morabito

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    21
    DroneDeploy: Powerful cloud-based drone software. is a good mapping tool,
    It's fairly accurate, you just need to experiment with the settings (fly higher or lower, more camera angle (45°) if doing 3D work of a building for example (oh and don't neglect the amount of overlapping between pictures, more is better for accuracy)
    Maybe best to contact the company directly.
    The P4 will certainly give you the image data, the most important part is the software that uses the data to create the map.
     
  3. fberna

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    we do perform 3D mapping -photogrammetry- with the P4.

    We use either Mapmadeeasy or Altizure to drive the P4.

    60 m high with give you 2cm/pixel which for us is good enough.

    Feel free to contact me if you need more info or some files as example.

    Still do not get how it will cost more than 3000 usd to get a P4 with all accessories....
     
  4. AlexSP

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    237
    That level of accuracy and GPS precision can only be attained with the use of GCP (ground control points) or a RTK (real time kinetic) drone, like eBee or other (you can build from kits too, including DJI's).

    If you're looking for a fully aerial and shortest time workflow then it's best to go with RTK, as GCP takes more resources. But the starting cost is higher since RTK is expensive. There's always a trade-off so depends on exactly what your needs are, the resources available and the demand.

    "Prosumer" drones like the P4 can't get cm-level results alone, only feet-level. You can choose higher-accuracy cloud processing from Pix4D or Drone Deploy or map overlay and georeference with Maps Made Easy in their top level plans, but still a more precise ground positioning reference system during capturing is needed.
     
    #4 AlexSP, Oct 14, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
  5. fberna

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I assumed that the use of GCP was already taken into account!

    The P4 alone won't give you any survey grade result. The result won't be correctly scaled and the whole plane will be tilted, with the part further away from the beginning of the flight showing -wrongfully- at an higher elevation.

    Using GCP solve entirely the problem and you do get easily into the 2 to 3 cm precision mark. This is however linked to the precision of your ground points.

    So if you can make use of GCP through a RTK GPS or official points and a total station, there is no need to heavily invest into RTK drones.
     
    AlexSP likes this.
  6. AlexSP

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    237
    Well said!
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    3,466
    The big advantage of the Phantom over the Inspire is that it has a better battery life/flight time so it allows you to cover a bigger area each flight.
    And by the time you put the heavier and more expensive X5 camera on the Inspire, your flight time takes an even bigger hit.
    The X5R would give you no advantage for still images.
     
  8. fberna

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    additional info:

    IF you think you would be performing mapping near any airport forget the DJI. The geofencing can be temporarily lifted by DJI after your present some documents, but this won't work with any of the previously indicated software used to drive the copter for acquiring the images.
     
  9. AlexSP

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    237
    I can back that up. The P3 (and of course the P4) is an excellent mapping drone, so much so I'm selling my I1 with very little use. My P3P can perform one-shot surveys where the I1 may need a switch of batteries. Not to mention the whole carrying-unpacking-assembling-preparing procedure which is a lot more simpler with the P3.
     
  10. Leif Johnston

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all for your responses!

    I am going to be definitely utilizing ground control points as this is the only way to get the accuracies I need and from what I've been reading I might need to play around with the altitude to achieve my required resolution.

    I wont be even thinking of an RTK drone as they are still really expensive and my boss will probably just laugh at the cost...
     
  11. AlexSP

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    237
    More like he'd CRY eh!? Lol :p :D

    Yep, ground RTK is readily available and unexpensive, makes much more sense business-wise most of times indeed ;)

    Best luck!
     
  12. Leif Johnston

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another couple of questions...

    • Has anyone used or had experience with an upgrade lens from Peau Productions? You can get a 16 megapixel for around $100, not sure if this is worth it?
    • In regards to Apps, what is the best one for surveying way points etc. I'm will be using Agisoft Photoscan for editing so does it matter what app use?
    • What camera/app settings work best?
    • Is it better use apple or android phone or tablet?
    Thanks again!
     
  13. TFV

    TFV

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am new using drones and I would like to know in which file are the flight coordinates, I have a phantom 4. I need gereference the videos and photographs that I get with the drone to map vegetation, is this possible?
    Thank you.
     
  14. Dinerve

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    95
    If you're talking about stills, I believe these are geotagged, so you should be able to retrieve the coordinates with any exif viewer.

    Also, question is a bit off-topic.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots