Phantom 4 Shell and Forward Sensor Replacement... because I messed up

Reaction score
Hi all,

So, I'm a total newbie here and I had to join for a rather unfortunate reason. While doing some filming today with a few cars I made a rookie mistake, and crashed my P4 after making contact with some leaves on a tree branch. Got too focused on what was happening on screen and backed the drone very gently into the leaves, causing it to instantly drop. As far as crashes go, it was almost a best-case scenario - the UAV dropped from about 3 meters up, was cushioned by the tree branches slightly, and crashed into grass (about 2 feet away from pavement).

Nobody was hurt, no cars were damaged, but my pride and my drone are both hurting a little. The forward left arm of the UAV has been bent slightly and buckled, but the UAV still flies fine and appears stable. Aside from the arm, the forward sensors seem to be damaged, or knocked out of place, and are producing an error message. My thoughts are that both the shell, and likely the sensors need to be replaced. While it appears okay after a test flight, I don't like the thought of flying with anything compromised.

I've done some searching on the forums here and elsewhere online, but can't seem to find any real instructions on shell replacement for the P4. (I guess not enough experienced repairmen have crashed them yet?). The other problem I'm running into is that I can't seem to find replacement forward sensors. All that said, I have two questions I was hoping someone might be able to help me out with, and point me in the right direction.

1. Are there any instructions anyone has found for a P4 shell replacement? Found this video which shows the disassembly, but it really isn't very detailed.
2. Has anyone on here attempted this repair themselves?
3. Can replacement forward sensors be found anywhere? Or am I SOL/need to replace the entire UAV to get these working again?