Phantom 4 or Mavic Pro for real estate footage

Reaction score
I am a photographer and want to buy a drone for real estate photography and video.
I am tempted to get the Mavic, but I am not sure if the FOV of 20mm of the Phantom 4 is better suited for real estate then the 28mm of the Mavic.

What do you guys think?

I am a photographer and want to buy a drone for real estate photography and video.
I am tempted to get the Mavic, but I am not sure if the FOV of 20mm of the Phantom 4 is better suited for real estate then the 28mm of the Mavic.
Either would do a very good job.
With the Mavic, you wouldn't have to get in so close but you'd get less perspective distortion.

I say/went with the Mavic because with the phantom's wider FOV its harder to really make the target/house the center of attention. For real estate photography, you want to make the house the center of attention; not just a wide screen pano of the whole block.

Other benefits of the mavic:
-Easier indoor flying in tripod mode....possible to get some amazing shots inside the house.

Reactions: Mark Faircloth
The Mavic would be tempting for a number of reasons. The camera is likely to get equivalent quality images. Other than that, the advantages relate to its size.
  • It's easy to pack discreetly.
  • It's quick and easy to set up
  • It's (reportedly) quieter
  • It might be a little easier to maneuver around inside the house. That could be important because the wide angle lens will give a good room perspective
  • The whole thing would allow for more discretion that might cause a little less stir in the neighborhood.

P4 as it has a wider view. For those that want a narrower view, simply crop the P4's shot. To me it makes no sense to recommend a camera that has less ability for the reason that it's more limited.