Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Kranmc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Was watching the Drone Camps review on You-tube. They seemed to think that this must be a hybrid of Lightbridge because the transmitter is still good for 3.1 miles, but it doesn't say it's a Lightbridge connection.

    What are other's thoughts?



    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Kenneth Marsola

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    94
    It's been conformed that the P3P controller is compatible with the P4
     
  3. Kranmc

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does that mean Lightbridge after all?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,994
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Hmm, I'm wondering if the F mode on the RC magically changes to S mode after binding with a P4.
     
    woedee likes this.
  5. realsting

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    40
    This is and I quote, from the DJI website Phantom 4 RC Spec:

    "The Phantom 4’s remote control and live feed is based on DJI Lightbridge technology, providing effective control range of up to 3.1mi (5km) in unobstructed areas that are free from interference. Its HD live feed gives you an exact view of your flight, perfect for composing shots."
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    DJI's specs show Lightbridge here.
     
  7. realsting

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yes.. Shows a 'video downlink' as lightbridge. Does that mean there is another form of control from the RC to the Aircraft? That wouldn't seem to make a whole lot of sense though!
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Yes. The RC does not control the Phantom via the Lightbridge video connection.

    For the RC connection, the only thing that has changed between the Phantom 3 and 4 is the power of the transmitter. It has increased from FCC 20 dBm to FCC 23 dBm. And, CE 16 dBm to CE 17 dBm.
     
  9. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Okay. So why does DroneCampsRC say it's a hybrid? Any ideas?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Well, he said he was assuming in his video. DJI's website clearly lists it as Lightbridge though.
     
  11. oblivie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    54



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Ajginger

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    31
    The dji website says it " is based on lightbridge " . Doesn't say it is lightbridge.
     
  13. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,117
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    It says it's Lightbridge here:

    Lightbridge.png
     
    Dounin Front likes this.
  14. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Light bridge is a thing of the past. By the end of the year it will be "lighter bridge" 1080p down link or better
     
  15. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,994
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Good grief guys. Using one word, "based", to create your own story line from a Chinese company that doesn't have command of the English language is worse than guessing at the truth. Same goes with Justin at drone camps.You guys might as well use a Crystal ball, it would be more accurate.
     
    Meta4 likes this.
  16. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,932
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Because they don't know what they're talking about?

    It's Lightbridge. DJI reuses the same tech in new products all the time. What else would it be?
     
    750r and Dirty Bird like this.
  17. Ajginger

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    31
    Would it be something ' based ' on lightbridge ??? LOL ( just stirring )
     
  18. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I don't know. I have no idea. It doesn't make sense. That's why I asked. It just seems odd that DoneCampsRC, an authorized DJI retailer, would make this hybrid idea up out of thin air. Thanks
     
  19. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Awright I looked at some of the comments on that dronecampsrc vid comments section. Somebody challenged them on the hybrid thing, and dronecampsrc explains:

    You just said it yourself. "Based" on Lightbridge. This means it is not fully Lightbridge. Light bridge on the Phantom 3 also is a hybrid of the original. Not the full blown version. Trust me.

    Okay. So I'm going to guess that "Lightbridge 2" is perhaps the original Lightbridge. And perhaps DJI watered it down somehow for the P3.

    Just guessing.

     
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    What makes no sense is the way the forums blow up with furious posting over misunderstandings with every new model.
    WIth the P3 it was all about how the european customers would have their range crippled.
    In the last week there have been a hundred or more posts complaining about altitude limits that don't exist and this week it's nonsensical suggestions that somehow the camera sensor and now Lightbridge is somehow inferior to what's in the P3
    The P4 has the same Lightbridge as the P3.
    It's the same ...except for some trivial increase in the power output, there nothing different about it and it's going to perform just like the Lightbridge in the P3.