Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am very new to DJI Drones and have only flown the cheapy Chinese ones so I could be doing something absolutely stupid but I cant get the rotors to spin using the controller. I can set it to automatically lift 1.2 meters but have only done that with the blades removed so the motors do spin but it informs me the blades are missing. But when I shift the left lever up and down it does nothing. Although I can turn the camera etc It is on mode 2 configuration which it says is normal. It is calibrated and that shows the control working It is brand new from Maplins. Any ideas please because |I'm not sure the boys from Maplin will know
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,043
    Likes Received:
    5,608
    Location:
    US
    You need to do a CSC to turn on the motors.
     
  3. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the very swift reply. I googled that and found out it was the kill switch combination so I have put the left leaver at bottom right and pressed smart switch at the same time as in the manual. But it hasn't changed anything. I have turned it all on and off a few times and retried. Could I still be missing something
     
  4. Ibmftw

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    82
    Put the left stick to the bottom right, and the right stick to the bottom left.
     
  5. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried Left stick Bottom Right and Right stick Bottom Left but still nothing. I can still control the gimbal and camera though if that proves anything
     
  6. Ibmftw

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    82
    Did you wait for the phantom to power up and finish it's checks?
     
  7. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep I have done that several times to be sure. Does the fact that if I set it to take off for 1.2 meters and hover the motors do spin prove anything
     
  8. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Don't use auto takeoff without props. Power off the bird, then power back on. Does your app show connected and ready to fly? If so, pull both sticks down and in, and hold till the motors start. You can then check throttle gently with left stick. Again, do not over rev the motors with no props on. Shut down by holding left stick straight down till the motors stop.
     
  9. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Trying to auto takeoff with no props causes the motors to shut off, requiring a reboot of the copter.
     
    maseman88 likes this.
  10. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the perfect advice. It is now working. pulled both sticks inward and down and it initiated. I'm not sure it explains that in the manual or if I ever need to do that again so thank you very much Multicoptertec
     
  11. Ibmftw

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    82
    Is this different from down and inwards?
     
  12. Pajeroshop

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it is exactly what you said thank you. Will I need to that every time
     
  13. Ibmftw

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes, it's for safety.
     
  14. zivalfred

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mate try to turn off beginners mode.