Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. REALTOR JIM

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just upgraded the firmware on my new Phantom 4. I can't get it to connect to the RC. I can move the camera but it still says "Connect your DJI device"? Any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Jim

    PS Anyone in Minnesota that can walk me through my first flight?
     
  2. REALTOR JIM

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Double-check that you upgraded it properly. You can find detailed firmware installation instructions here.
     
    REALTOR JIM likes this.
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Always update the craft first. If you update the RC first you'll need to rev back so you can update the craft first. Once that's done, then update the RC.

    Optionally you can use DJIs digital assistant 2 on a PC to update the craft. That app is available from the DJI website, free download.
     
    REALTOR JIM likes this.
  5. REALTOR JIM

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used the DJI digital assistant and it upgraded fine. When I went to fly it said I needed to update RC. Updated and it worked perfect. It was my first flight and I was amazed at how easy it was to fly. Very impressed.
     
  6. vaughn1976

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    In the dji go app you can reconnect the remote..just like if you bought a new rc and had to sink them together


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  7. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    i updated my RC first. Have not done the P4 yet. Do I need to downgrade the RC first then the P4 upgrade? If so how do I downgrade the RC to the previous version?
     
  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Read this thread.
    Controller Downgrade and FW Update
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Downgrade the remote controller firmware like this and follow these instructions to upgrade the firmware.
     
  10. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    Have remote on and bird on it always says disconnected . Turn off and on several times and I get nothing !!!!
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Did you follow my steps above?
     
  12. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    Yes but without the bird on it said no firmware was available to downgrade and it had no version listed
     
  13. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    So I turned the bird on thinking it needed to be on and it just said disconennected
     
  14. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    Do I have to send this back?...
    What is the correct sequence to fire everything up. The bird first and then the remote.. doe the bird have to be on to downgrade the firmware.??
     
  15. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    61
  16. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    This talks about a I pad being used. I have a samsung Tab A.
    should be nothing to delete in the cache as I have not even flown it yet. I went ahead and deinstalled the app on my tablet and reinstalled it. Will try again after I get home this afternoon.
    1. Does the bird need to be on to see the firmware on the RC ????
    Im completely new to phantoms so please bare with me.
    2. If the firmware is completely gone how do I get it back?
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Uninstall DJI GO, reinstall it, and then check if a downgrade is available.
     
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Remote controller, bird, DJI GO.
     
  19. laserdoc85

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Atlanta area
    got it back!!!!! Firm wear is 1.58. So I will update the bird first then the RG
     
  20. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    What did you end up doing to fix it?