Phantom 4 altitude displaying as a negative number

Reaction score
Hello. I am new to flying drones. I have had my Phantom 4 for about two weeks and for the most part it has worked great. I have had a couple of glitches that I'm not sure are problems or are just inherent to the operation of the aircraft. The other day I took my Phantom out for a flight and the altitude reading started at 0 feet like normal. I took it up to about 200 feet, flew around a bit and when I started to bring it down I noticed it was dropping on its own pretty rapidly. I regained control and landed safely. I noticed the altitude reading was -30 feet. I didn't think about it much at the time. I wanted to take off again but the message at the top of the screen read 'cannot take off'. I clicked on the message and it said 'IMU altitude exception, contact customer service'. At this point I shut everything down and restarted and everything seemed normal, however I did not push it too hard because I was getting nervous. I called tech support the next day but they where not much help. They insisted that I should have gotten screen shots of the problem while it was happening even though I told them exactly what the error message said. Today I took it out for a flight and all seemed normal but after switching batteries, I noticed that the altitude was saying -160 feet. I had the drone about 100 feet in the air and it was still displaying a negative altitude reading. I also noticed that while I had it hovering it would not keep its altitude stable. It would some times slowly drift up or down. By the way, I have done IMU, compass and transmitter calibrations. I contacted customer service again. Again, no help. Anybody else have similar issues? Is there a problem with my Phantom or is this normal operation?

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

Example: if you take off from a cliff's edge and descend below the take off level, then you will get a negative height.