Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Took phantom 4 18000 feet out and realized I was running low on battery. I was forced to land about 300 feet away in midst of trees and power lines, but landed safely. Phantom still had full signal. I think I still had another couple thousand feet left. I didn't get weak signal message till I turned around to head home. Attached is screen shot.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    I went out 10,000 today with no signal loss, stock. Were you stock as well?
     
  3. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just had windsurfer antennas. That's it, so you might as well say stock.
     
  4. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    Excellent. I have windsurfers on the way, I guess the only limitation in good flying environments will be battery life.
     
  5. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
  6. scatmanr1

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    29
    Man you guys have some nice wide open land


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. philmarker

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Winsurfers do absolutely nothing for me. No range increase, even by a few feet. Good luck.
     
    Zuzua and Toyz like this.
  8. Panamedia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    12
    Where in the world do you think he was 18K up!?!?! When the mechanical limit of the bird is 1600 AGL... Fairly certain your account should be deleted.
     
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    While I completely agree with your sentiment, it appears to me he was just over 400ft altitude at the time of the screen shot.

    Might you be confusing distance with altitude? Seems like it. :oops:
     
    FrequentFlyer and johnbowen like this.
  10. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2

    I was only 400 feet and some change in altitude. I live out in the country and Its so flat I can basically keep line of sight even at extreme distances. 18000 was distance, not altitude. Phantom's are limited by software to prevent them from climbing more than 1600 or so feet. 18,000 feet altitude would be impossible.
     
    #10 Jonathan Abdoo, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
    JWarren likes this.
  11. johnbowen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    29
    IMG_0226.PNG
    My apologies. U are correct. Sorry I misinterpreted your post.

    My brain cramp was probably due to just reviewing the specs of the phantom.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  12. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Kind of extreme don't you think?

    I'd leave the "Account Deletion" options/suggestions up to the STAFF members of this forum.
     
    #12 BigAl07, Jul 5, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2016
    Freedom4 and dirkclod like this.
  13. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119
    Is there a way around the P4's 1500ft limit?
     
  14. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    None... [yet???]
     
  15. JWarren

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    119
    There's no need for a way, just wondering.
     
  16. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I've flown 12,000 high before, but I was only 150' AGL at Loveland pass. Loveland pass. I've often needed more than 1640' (500m) above take off level when climbing mountains, while still being only 200' AGL. It would be within the FAA guidelines. Someday I hope DJI increases their vertical flight limite to 2600' like Autel offers. I see lots of good reports on Autel's distance, even without Lightbridge, due to their 900mhz band. Apparently 900mhz works better with plain old wifi protocol for video.
     
  17. SoundByte

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    32
    Yes, if you put your bird in a hypobaric chamber and lower the barometric pressure before starting the motors. I've tried this using an ordinary upright vacuum cleaner and got 160m more out of it. Theoretically you could set the home point to what ever altitude you want.
     
  18. Jussaguy

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    385
    Holy crap!!! Good god man.
     
  19. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    No problem. I was probably too harsh on reply too. I apologize as well. I edited it. Have a great night!
     
    #19 Jonathan Abdoo, Jul 6, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016
  20. Jonathan Abdoo

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    How did you use vacuum? What did you do?