Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Phantom 3 won't take pictures/video

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by putterizer, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. putterizer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have the phantom 3 professional with the latest 1.3.20 firmware on it. I run either a Galaxy S5 or Galaxy Tab 4 7" tablet with the 1.2.0 DJIPilot app on it.

    I am having an issue with the drone not taking pictures when you click on the shutter button in the app, or click the button on the remote control. I can take off from the ground, take about 2 or 3 pictures or video with it, but then it stops working. It stops doing this during midflight. I can bring it back to the ground, powercycle everything, then take back off and it will do the same thing, it'll take a couple/three pictures, then stop working.

    I did not have this issue before I performed the firmware upgrade to the 1.3.20

    Has anyone else experienced issues like this with the camera not taking pictures or video?
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    reformat your SD card.
     
  3. putterizer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    I will most certainly try this. Just out of curiosity, what is the thinking behind that?
     
  4. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Sounds like the card is corrupt.
     
  5. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Use a different micro SD card to confirm. You should have several anyway, in case this ever happens again, and to swap out in between every flight and battery change, so you never lose your already recorded files, should the drone not be recoverable, for whatever reason. Stuff happens. You can replace the drone, but the files are irreplaceable!:cool:
     
    #5 GadgetGuy, Aug 10, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
  6. putterizer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you gentlemen! I got it working with your advice.
    I reformatted card in computer and it was still doing the same thing. So then I put in the drone and reformatted it and it works fine when done that way.
    I been trying to figure this out for 3 days.
    Posting here was a much faster response than trying to contact dji for support.

    Thanks again for the assistance!
     
  7. GadgetGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    Glad it worked. I had a similar issue today with a card I had previously used for a .bin file firmware update. The P3P would not connect to the DJI GO app with this card inserted, even thought the .bin file was deleted. Apparently, something remained behind in the MISC directory. Swapped cards and everything was fine. Reformatted the other card in both my PC and in the P3P, and now it works again, too! Whenever possible format in the drone. If not possible, format first in a computer, and then reformat in the drone.
     
    bobmyers and putterizer like this.