Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Phantom 3 won't start

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Matchlock, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    After a great half hour or so flying two days ago I put her away as I always do and put her to bed as usual.

    Today I went out back with a fully charged flight battery, fully charged iPad mini 2 and a fully charged controller.

    After she warmed up and said "Safe to Fly GPS" I touched the take-off button and slid my finger across but the Phantom jut sat there and wouldn't start.

    I got an error message which I think was. "ESC Status Error. Restart Aircraft" Contact DJI Support after restart.

    Could someone please help me with this? I'm at a loss as to what went wrong.

    Bud
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    You didn't say what you did after you got the warning. The message seems to be saying it wants you to reboot the P3. Did you?
     
  3. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    I don't know how to reboot it, it just said to retry starting and if no go contact DJI
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Reboot (cycle) the IPad or Android, the RC and the aircraft.
     
  5. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    First turn off everything (P3, remote controller, tablet).
    Check if all your motors are free to turn when the bird is off.
    If one is no behaving the same you can try to check if there is something you can clean in it.
    Retry to start it.
    Can only cross the fingers it works now.
     
  6. MasterBlaster

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    GA
    Have you recently removed a set of prop guards?
    I have read on here many times others getting a similar error after they accidentally used the longer screws under the motors after removing their prop guards.

    Hope you figure it out sooner than later.

    MB


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  7. Matchlock

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    No, but the DJI Company said that this "ESC Status Error" was a factory defect and to send it back to them. It left here by UPS yesterday and will be repaired under warranty. They sent me a label and all the appropriate paper work for the shipment.

    Thanks though for the reply. Most appreciated.

    Bud