Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 will have Waypoints

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by TomWolves, Apr 24, 2015.

  1. TomWolves

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    I hear the Phantom 3 will have "waypoints" in the ground station app. Maybe this has been posted, but if not it is now. I use waypoints very much. It is nice to set POI "points of interests" and just watch and listen. Today I flew my P2V+. Can't wait for the P3, but I guess I will have too!
     
  2. -terry

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Washington
    Where on earth did you hear that?
     
  3. Rigel2112

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Everett, Washington USA
  4. Kingfish28

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    84
    No waypoints, no POI, no groundstation.

    Any of those functions will have to be through 3rd party applications, which none exist as of yet.
     
  5. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    And expect to pay between $20-$40 for the apps to let you do this.
     
  6. TomWolves

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    9
    A friend of mine called DJI in Los Angeles, spoke with a technician there. the Tech said the Phantom 3 will be using the same app as the Inspire one, and that it will have waypoints. That is all I know.
    We will soon see in a week or so!!
     
  7. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    POI will be a feature in upcoming firmware, waypoints will more than likely be from 3rd party apps.
     
  8. KillerCut

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    33
    what will POI do? A single waypoint or what?
     
  9. Tahoe Ed

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    33
    It allows you to circle a point in space with the camera pointing to the center of the circle.
     
  10. KillerCut

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    33
    Oh, not bad. I wonder how smooth it will be, guess I will have to wait and see...
     
  11. Mal_PV2_Ireland

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Dublin Ireland
    Well coming from you guys Blade and Tahoe that's good enough of an answer for me. Any other spoilers or treats for us? :)
     
  12. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    This has been active in DJI pro line controllers for some time. Its pretty darn smooth.
     
  13. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    Interesting. Perhaps a software upgrade when P3 comes out??
     
  14. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    This will be in a future firmware upgrade.