Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Updates ?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by snoopluc, Mar 11, 2016.

  1. snoopluc

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know when the next update will be available?
    It's been three months since the last 1.6.0040
     
    Sinisalo likes this.
  2. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    326
    my guess is P3P owners will get 120fps slow motion like the P4. A new DJI Go app will be released when the P4 is released, (today doesn't count). With the new Go app I think the P3 line will also get logs to show their flight stats in the app (don't have to pay for healthydrones). So basically I think there may or may not be a firmware update in the next week or so for the P3.
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    As the SW/ FW gets matured, frequency of updates reduces. Feature updates are not frequent. As Sinisalo said there could be a feature update along with P4 release.
     
  4. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    What, and no 5K camera boost? Too bad... ;-)
    I wish @dji would release the full list of files in future firmware udates or Go app upgrades.
    I realize it's a lot to wish for... Ha

    RedHotPoker
     
    #4 RedHotPoker, Mar 11, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2016
  5. richardhurst

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    39
    I've heard that the Go App will be updated again on Monday so maybe then we will get a new firmware version for the P3
     
  6. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'll let you guys go first.:)
     
    ScopeTech likes this.
  7. samk090905

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    is there an option not to update? i get the impression its automatically done? so for the drone i had to manually update, but with the remote it did it automatically.
     
  8. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    You don't have to update the app, the drone, or the RC. None of them are updated automatically, though the app may update on it's own if you have allowed that to happen via your settings.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  9. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes you can set it as per your wish. It depends on your App updates settings on your device. I never go for auto updates.
     
  10. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,084
    Likes Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Is it true that we had an 2.6.1 app update for Android where it was claimed that it doesn't allow non-DJI batteries any more?
     
  11. samk090905

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks oso, but how do I prevent that from happening? I know about the drone but my remote updated automatically, just like my battery did once I put it in the dron . how do I prevent these automatic updates?
     
  12. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I can't say how to prevent the RC from automatically updating because I have never heard of it happening to anyone. It won't update unless the user initiates the update.

    As for the app, it will update when a new version is available unless you have disabled that option on your device. Many people have had an app update they didn't want because they failed to disable auto updates.

    As for the batteries, yes they update if they need to when new FW is released as long as the bin is on the SD card. This is by design.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  13. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    There are videos showing that non DJI battery's will not allow motor starts. Something that snook in with 2.61.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  14. samk090905

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks oso. could you/anyone please point me specifically to where i can disable these settings? i looked in the dji app(my copter was not connected) and couldnt find it.
     
  15. PrecisionAeroworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Assuming we are talking about Android...
    Open Google Play App, go into settings. Should be top of the list.
     
  16. samk090905

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks PA. oh wow, ok that's easy enough for the app. now how do i prevent the remote from doing the same automatically?
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    The RC wont update on it's own automatically. Sorry, I thought I was clear on that in my earlier post. My bad for not being clear.
    The best way to keep your RC from updating is to not initiate the update yourself.
    If there is an RC update available and you choose to do the update, you can follow the steps in this post:
    P3 Firmware - HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware

    I hope that helps some. Cheers!
     
    #17 Oso, Mar 11, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2016
    JoBe likes this.
  18. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Neither the aircraft or RC should update on their own without you authorizing them to do so.

     
  19. samk090905

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks oso/dirty bird. the aircraft im aware of, but i remember the RC doing it on its own and i know i didnt authorize it. maybe i did but good to know. .
     
  20. kennedye

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Seattle/Everett area
    1.7 unlocks the GEO functionality which will enable me to fly in more places nearby, so I hope it is released soon.