Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

PHANTOM 3 STD - BUYER'S REMORSE ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BillH, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'm wondering if others out there are thinking what I'm thing about the P3S and all the missing features and getting a glorified P2V.
    Don't get me wrong, I like the bird, but the longer I have it and the more research I do, I am finding so many Huge differences between it and the Pro than I knew when I bought it. Everyone I talked to and most of the info online was saying the only difference was the camera. That is just the tip of the iceberg. Listed below are some major differences as far as I know, and these are the things I'm going to miss the most.

    1. CAMERA
    Yes, the camera's are quite a bit different with different lenses, 2.7 K on the Standard and 4K on the Pro. There are also quite a few settings on the PRO that the STD doesn't have such as ISO settings to change shutter speed and aperture. At least I could not find these settings while going through the settings on my Go App. The PRO has screw on filter marriage and the STD has a push on only ability. I'm not sure, and I have no filters for my STD yet, but maybe the slide on filters will be fine.
    In a nutshell, yes, the Pro Camera has a lot more features, but I am happy with the STD Camera. The 4K is almost impossible to upload to Vimeo or Youtube if you don't have Blazing fast internet. 15 Mb is the fastest available here in the mountains where I live, and in real life, I can only upload at up to 1 Mb / S. 4K is way ahead of the game, and most people don't realize what it takes to upload or Share the Video.

    2. GIMBAL
    Gimbals are the same as far as I know, and my P3S Gimbal works awesome. I find that while watching a video, even in light wind, the videos look like still shots until I start panning or moving the camera. I have to look at the Play Bar to see if it's playing or paused. The 3 Axis Gimbal is an awesome advantage over the old P2V that was missing the Roll motor.

    3. CONTROLLER
    This is where my biggest complaint comes in, and it's all my fault because I didn't take enough time to do in-depth comparisons between the P3S - P3A - and the P3P.
    There is no option on the P3S for FPV Goggles or wired monitor. Chatting with DJI, their advice is "No, the P3S does not have that feature and if you want it you have to purchase the P3A or P3P models. The P3A & P3P have 2 antennas also and better range right out of the box.
    There are also numerous added switches and buttons for camera functions on the P3A and P3P
    and the clunky John Deere Tractor Gear Shift switches are gone on the A and P models and are in better locations where they don't get bumped accidentally or interfere with your FPV placement. There are other things too many to mention.
    I've had my P3S 2 weeks, and have thought about sending it back and upgrading to the P3P. Maybe I'll keep it and purchase the Pro later when I've learned to fly better. Some of my info here may not be correct as I am still learning, but the fact is there is a reason you can get the P3STD for $500.00 This is one instance where you get what you pay for, and don't let anyone tell you the only difference is the camera.

    This is just my opinion to date, and I know others will have different opinions. There, I got it out. .... LOl
     
    #1 BillH, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    1,147
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Two of the things that jump out at me are GLONASS and LIGHTBRIDGE. Seems odd nobody would mention it to you.
     
  3. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    323
    This is a very common thing, I have owned the standard but luckily was able to return it and buy the pro. I always tell people the pro is a lot cheaper than the pro and standard combined. Just think of it as a trainer and buy the pro when the price drops (it will eventually)
     
    Sabalon, BillH and bunkphenomenon like this.
  4. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's what I'm thinking too, wait until the Pro drops in price and buy it.
     
  5. 0DRK3RT

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    156
    Bill, From the info you provided, I recommend you buy the P3A. As you said in your post, 4K video is clunky to upload and you need a computer that's powerful enough to view 4K and edit it. Also your internet speed seems to be lacking in speed.

    You mentioned wanting to use goggles. If so, you have to buy the HDMI module for both the P3A and P3P remote controller.
     
  6. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    153
    Bill:

    I tried to send you a message via your old Gmail account and it bounced back. Check your PM's here on this forum.

    I'm quite pleased that I chose the P3A. I'm also happy I didn't go up the chain with a P3P since I see no use (at least for me) with 4k video. In fact, I'm so-far shooting at 1080P and haven't seen a need to bump up to 2.7K. Perhaps you're having the same experience with your camera. (Isn't it the same camera?) I just removed my lens cover and put a Polar Pro ND filter on mine.

    But the lightbridge is awesome. I've done some relatively (for me) long look-see FPV flights (using an iPad Mini 2) that are amazing.

    If it were me, I'd probably eBay the Standard as a nearly-new uncrashed and disclose the hours on it and bump up to a P3A or P3P.

    (not sure what a glorified PV2 is?)

    S
     
  7. QuadBart

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    USA
    I did alot of research before I bought the P3A. What convinced me as looking on the DJI site at the "side by side" comparison between the Standard, Pro, Adv; Compare the Phantom Series | DJI. $300 is still a lot of money to me, the price difference between the "S" and the "Adv" but I thought it was worth the extra money upfront.
     
  8. TheTanger

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    DJI Headquarters
    I have a P3S with antenna mods (both the DBS Panel and FPVLR) and just got an ADV. It think it comes down to COST vs. NEEDS. What are you going to do with it? For many things, the P3S is perfectly fine, and you can extend range quite a bit if you have a TX mod.

    You might want to read what I wrote on this thread:
    ADV vs. Standard w/Antenna Mod

    Here's a flight with the P3S w/FPVLR I did in a residential location.
     
    #8 TheTanger, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2016
    liketogethigh likes this.
  9. Crawdaddyjc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    33
    I originally got the standard and after a week the price dropped and was able to upgrade to the advanced. I am glad i did. I love the advanced rc much more. I dont really have a want/need for a pro and couldnt justify the price difference. But the differences between the s and a are enough to know i made the best decision for me.
     
    Doink and TheTanger like this.
  10. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yep, as I mentioned, I suffer with only 1 available internet option here, it's slower than hell at 15 MBs max, and it is impossible to upload with 1 MBs upload speed. I have no other choice. The clunkiness I was talking about is the John Deere tractor controls they put on the P3 Standard Controller.

    Sagebrush, the P2V is Phantom 2 Vision, yes, I made the mistake of buying that one too and not waiting for the good stuff.
     
  11. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    80
    Sure there is. I use a Nvidia Shield K1 that has HDMI output. Perfect for using with FPV goggles or outputting to a monitor.

    Here's a website (for 2016) that lists all tablets that have HDMI output:

    Compare 84 HDMI Tablet Computers 2016 and more
     
  12. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    That doesn't have GPS which I need though. I wonder if any of the Apple iPads have hDMI. I'm going to look.
     
  13. beeline

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    North Alabama
    If you are referring to the Nvidia Shield K1, it does have GPS.
     
  14. RadRich

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2015
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    80
    He may be an Apple fan boy. Unsubscribed.
     
  15. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    Oh, I just didn't see it in the specs. thanks. I'm ordering the P3A now any way.
     
    Doink likes this.
  16. TheTanger

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    DJI Headquarters
    Smart move...I just took the ADV out for a long range rural flight...over 15K. Dang, stats later.
     
  17. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    I am indeed an Apple fan.
     
    dirkclod, GoodnNuff and Sagebrush like this.
  18. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    absolutely has GPS
     
  19. BillH

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    35
    Has GPS but it's not Apple. I guess I'm spoiled . What can I say? LOL
     
  20. Heisnuts

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same story here. I started with a cheap Dromida Optimus FPV and became hooked. I bought the P3S at first because I figured there was no way I was every going to need more than a half mile range out of a drone... or need to set up a tablet of all things on the controller to monitor the flight.... Well, that only lasted a few days and before I knew it the RTH was activating on its own after losing signal over multiple flights. Fortunately, Best Buy has a 15 day return policy and the P3A was returned for a P3S.

    Now I only have 1 full day of flying the P3S (a little over 2 hours of flight time), but now I can't believe the difference. Having the tablet on the controller and having a lot more reliable signal have made a world of difference. Of course now I am saying there's no way I am going to need a 3 mile range... or will I?

    I know you can buy upgrades for the P3S, but by the time you purchase all the equipment and then take the time to modify it, you are close to, if not over, the cost of just buying the P3A in the first place.