Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Standard range problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Martian Bear, Sep 21, 2015.

  1. Martian Bear

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello Guys,

    Great Forum!! I have a Phantom 3 standard and the max distance I been able to fly it at the beach is 300 mts and 98 meters altitude before loosing signal.Any idea whats happening? I used to have a phantom 2 vision plus and I remember that you were supposed to turn some screws at the back of the controller to make it go a bit further not sure if this is the same situation. Appreciate any help


    Luis
     
  2. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    Hey Luis. You're at the wrong forum. There's I've fire the p3s
     
  3. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    ?
     
  4. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    There's another forum for p3s. Sorry swyping error
     
  5. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,655
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Welcome to the forum Luis.
    The Go app will decide which it should be in .
    Is not like the P2 where you switch it on the back .
     
    Martian Bear likes this.
  6. Viper52

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have a range problem with my P3S. At 600 ft it goes RTH. Does anyone know if it is possible to use a 5,8 Ghz Patch or Helical FPV antenna on the RC transmitter?
     
  7. AngelPilot4u

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    There is an app to increase the dbi of the controller and Phantom 3 to 27 dbi, you can find it there >>
    The Magic power by Fadjar Hamidi - Jogjasky
    There is a tutorial also it's quite simple.. Cheers ..
    Use at your own risk .. It worked for me .. I think its more oriented for EU users who have more restrictive FCC limitations ..
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Lots of us have put DBS panels on the P3S. It will increase your range but 600' sounds like there may be a problem with it. Have you contacted DJI about it?