Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 standard- max altitude

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by petenyce405, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. petenyce405

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi all-

    What is the max height/altitude the ps 3 can reach? I have hot 400ft only. I took it out of beginner mode, just curious as I can not find a max altitude rating.

    Does the phantom regulate the height based on variables?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Bob8619

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Ft Myers Florida
    500 meters
     
    Omokjoe likes this.
  3. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Max height is 1,640 feet (limited by software)
     
  4. petenyce405

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    But are there certain things that will limit the max altitude? I can only reach 400ft max in my area- not that I want to go over 1k but I am curious as I feel like I am limited- I am flying the bird at 5 miles from an airport but any other things contribute to low altitude?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Then go in and change your settings when connected to aircraft. At which point it will give you a warning. Like so. Which you must agree to. Then you can go high. [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile
     
  6. petenyce405

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have done that already and set to 500m but I only can get 400ft- strange




    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Then maybe there is an internal max limit set in Europe. Not sure how.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    Which Go app version are you using? I'm on v2.4.3 (the one with 1080p60) and it lets me climb to 500m.

     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  9. Jeff Miller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Guess what. The new version of DJI GO limits max altitude to 120 Meters and worse yet, Fail-Safe return altitude is 30 Meters max. Don't update DJI Go unless you have very short trees and no tall buildings around.
     
  10. Not-in-sight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Where did you obtain this info from???
     
  11. Jeff Miller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Personal experience I just downloaded DJI GO APC and that is the first thing I noticed. I have an earlier version on another phone that, thank heavens, I can still set to 500 Meters. I am calling DJI about this now I'll get back with what they're saying or if there are any over-rides.
     
  12. kptw_pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Which software update is this? I checked my updates in the app store, but there isn't a new update for DJI GO.
     
  13. petenyce405

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7
  14. Jeff Miller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are you sure the setting stays at 500 and doesn't default back to 120?
     
  15. Not-in-sight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What version do you have?
    I have v2.6.0 and constantly do 1000+
     
  16. Not-in-sight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly what I was going ask next.
     
  17. Jeff Miller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not sure. Just downloaded it from Google Play yesterday. I just got off the phone with DJI and the csr says he doesn't know anything about it. I'm still suspicious since max altitude always defaults back to 120 meters after I try to change it which is 393.7 ft. (the FAA's max altitude for drones.) That I can live with but 30 meters max for fail-safe is definitely not cool.
     
  18. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    Are you changing setting while connected to drone? That's mostly how the setting does not stay in place. I want to remove the 500m Max anyway.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. Jeff Miller

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    8
    Not sure just downloaded it yesterday. Going to delete it and see if it's a problem with my tablet. Doesn't seem like it but I suppose it's possible. What makes me suspicious is 120 meters is 393.7 ft which is darn close to the FAA's max altitude for drones in the US.
     
  20. petenyce405

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    7



    Still only hit 400ft- the limited altitude must be because I am close to the airport- check the video .


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app