Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 S RANGE

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by zinko, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. zinko

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi ! Are there any solutions for phantom 3 Standart to extend the range of controls ? As far as I read quite a lot of criticism in the range of controls ( 500m) Since all models have a range of over 1000m + Everything is ok , but the 500m is a disaster !If enybody know the solution to have a range of 1000m+ please write . Thanks
     
  2. Quinten

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    6
    The standard is rated to have 800m so you getting 500 is not far from advertised. Especially seeing the 800m is Probably flying over water. They make antenna mods for the standard so read up on them. Honestly that's all anyone talks about on this page trying to increase the range so it's not that hard to find solutions for. I ordered a 5 dollar windsurfer off eBay and waiting for it to come in to test out. After that I'll probably buy the dbs mod and if I feel I want more then I'll add boosters.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    I did two range tests today, in exactly the same place. The first flight was with my unmodified CE spec P3S. I got 1740m before the signal was lost.

    Then I fitted a "windsurfer antenna booster" to my remote and did a second flight. The result was 2153m.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  5. Tony Cowan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    283
    I know the 500m thing is just a setting. If you turn it off it will go as far as your signal allows. And battery of course. Can't be one way trip. I'm waiting on a wind surfer.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    If I understand the question, Yes. I believe or I thought you would get a warning that battery level is getting low to make a return all the way back to home. I have gone straight out just to see how far it would go. RHT activates and starts returning and I thought it was going to run out of battery before it got back. I think there was a upper head wind. It has been landing on a RTH and critical warning came up. Keep in mind that the battery gets to that status it attempt to land at its current position.
    I had a P2V land by itself before it made it back. We could see where it landed with Binoculars took about an 1/2 hr to hike down to it. When then drove around to find the road to pickup the volunteer that retrieved it using maps and we came up to a locked gate. He walked about 3/4 mile we walked about 1/2 mile past the gate. It was still powered on and flashing by the time we got it back to the rig.
     
  7. N9344H

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    North Alabama
    500m is a vertical limit imposed by DJI, not a horizontal range limitation. I reached almost 2000m in an unmodified P3S, and nearing 2400 meters in with a 10-cent homemade windsurfer before I simply chickened out and returned home. So I think there are two parts to the solution: 1) find an area that is uncluttered with wi-fi, and 2) fly and try, not misinterpret what you are reading in the forums.
     
  8. zinko

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    WOW...
    Today I am going to fly again ..
    600m after the loss of signal and returns . Video works without any problems .
    I'm in Europa
     
  9. Alan Russel

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi in my recent flight with P3s decided to test out range...(stock) got to 1300m before lost signal. For best results have
    no obstructions ahead of you a keep antenna pointing up!
     
  10. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I'm sure answers will vary, what altitude are you at while testing distance?
     
  11. zinko

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey!

    150m
     
    RZR_Jim likes this.
  12. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    The FAA is looking for you! lol
     
  13. zinko

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. Maverick81

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    20
    P.Lindblom can you upload a picture of your windsurfer?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,627
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031