Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Pro - Small crash, re assembled camera and now problem

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by hawkeye_imagery, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. hawkeye_imagery

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a small accident with one of my phantom 3's whereby I clipped a branch from 2m above ground, it fell onto the grass and the camera came off. I then refitted it back on, thought it was ok and now it's doing this (refer to vid) whereby it will operate ok for 10 seconds and then it will drop the camera and I won't have any operation of it. Anyone had a similar problem?

     
  2. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Check the ribbon cable and even the other gimbal /camera connections.
    Acts like the pitch motor loses power or input.

    All that happens when you start the bird with the RC already on?
     
  3. hawkeye_imagery

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Air Ontario.. All the basic connections that I can get to look fine. I will take the gimbal off and reconnect though all the connections as a process of elimination. Yes, this all happens when the RC is on and/or off. Thanks again
     
  4. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Check the ribbon cable well, you may have to take 2 screws out of the rounded ribbon cable guard. Also look closely at the wiring where it connects to the actual connector. And of course the other 3 connectors(for a wire pulled loose yet still inside the connector(the multi grey wired ones)
     
  5. JayS_CT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    26
    Also sounds like it is reading the Micro SD card?? Do you have any FW files on the card? Light should go solid green on front.. Maybe a different SD card with (or without) current fw (or the one you are currently on?)..
     
  6. SteveAikens

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Clovis, NM
    ^^^^^^This

    Format the SD card and try again. Personally, I would check the firmware is current - and more importantly, directly downloaded, extracted and the FW update is copied to a fresh format card. It it persists and you don't get a solid green, you may have to contact DJI.
     
  7. hawkeye_imagery

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you again. All the connections look fine. I swapped the gimbal on my other PH3 for this one and it works ok.
    I've been to two repairman since I posted this and both are telling me that I require a new gimbal as it is a firmware gliche in the gimbal that only DJI repair. Even certified DJI repairs here in Australia don't have access to do it. Bizarre. I do trust one of the repairman so I'm sure he isn't taking me for a ride. I think I'm just going to keep it as parts as I don't want to have to spend another $500 for another gimbal
     
  8. hawkeye_imagery

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks SteveAikens. All the firmware updates have been looked at and it doesn't look to be the issue. Apparently it is a gimbal firmware gliche that only DJI can fix. My bird is out of warranty so I can't return it to them for repairs. See my response to Ontario above as to what the specialists had to say.
     
  9. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    DJI had complete gimbal/ camera for $389 usd to your door
     
  10. JayS_CT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    26
    B&H in NYC has it as well.. Same price, not sure about international shipping..
     
  11. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    He can as well buy new P3A gimbal for $279 and modify with his spares to work as P3P gimbal :)
     
  12. JayS_CT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    26
    True.. but the top electronics housing has to be working. The external fan is hot glued to that board. I believe the cameras are actually the same in reality and that the top board of the gimbal is what controls the 4K functions..
     
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Correct
     
  14. fastsmiles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    I use metal retainer pins to secure the camera instead of the plastic ones supplied by DJI. The plastic ones are just too weak to provide the needed protection in crashes. camera support 2.jpg
     
  15. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    Cable ties also work very well for this purpose.
     
  16. JayS_CT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    26
    With either the metal or cable ties, do you still see the same level (or maybe more) of vibration dampening? Would seem like the metal stays would allow more than cable ties? Where did you find those metal ones?
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,021
    Likes Received:
    5,599
    Location:
    US
    Yes -- both are installed loosely though. Their only purpose is to prevent the gimbal from separating from the Phantom in a crash.

    You can purchase them here.
     
  18. JayS_CT

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    26
    Thanks on both counts..