Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 pro range issues

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by only1stefan, Jan 29, 2016.

  1. only1stefan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all im new here. i have a phantom 3 pro and it wont seem to go more than 400m before loosing signal and getting signal loss message i thought it was because i was in london (in an open field) i am now in zanzibar and the same thing happens on the beach line of sight . any help would be great as i thought this was meant to go 1500m at least. and yes i have tried the aerials in a v and straight up makes no difference.
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,737
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    Here's a little more info on antenna orientation
     
  3. only1stefan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have put the aeriels the way it tells me to up and so the flat surface faces towartds the drone i have tried straight and in a v but n difference
     
  4. maxwell smart

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Texas
    I am having the same problem. I cant go over 4,000 ft. I have in staled the DBS mod, and no change, the same distance.
     
  5. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    I had that problem just yesterday on a p3 that 2 weeks ago went 6.5 miles. Out of nowhere got "no signal" error at 4000' last night dropped down one firmware then back up recalibrated everything, erase the app reinstalled the app. Today flew no problems 4 miles solid signal

    ( just to be clear I got the no signal error message three different flights in a row none of them could make it past 5000 feet.
     
  6. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    where are you bbfpv ?

    time to cut and paste again :)
     
  7. KMD1984

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    29
    What firmware did you have the range issue with?! My P3P is not getting more than 4000 feet??? Whats up with that?
     
  8. dirtbird

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    14
    I agree. We need some specifics here.
     
  9. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Count me in. Since the latest update I have seen a significant decrease in range. Need to do something.
     
  10. jaap schiphorst

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    since last upate I cannot fly further then around 600 feet! What to do?
     
  11. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Have you checked the setting and you dont have flight restrictions enabled ?
     
  12. Wyattroa

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    32
    Also wondering what firmware they are flying on their bird.

    I have not updated to the latest 1.9.60. I am currently sticking with 1.8.80.
     
  13. Hemar174

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    10
    wen you have the distance limit active a message appears in the screen an the voice will tell you that the distance limit has reached ... not signal lost
     
  14. Lifted Chevy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I too have a short range issue on my p3p. I get a 1000 ft out at 200 altitude and loss of signal or weak control warning. I am on 1.9.60.
     
  15. ElGuapo

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Please help us all with the specifics on the firmware, I had the same problem last weekend at around 1,650 feet distance / 280 feet altitude.
     
  16. Rommel

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    17
    Not that this helps you guys much. But my advanced is running 1.9.60 and I got 20k feet over the water in NYC.
    So it may not be the firmware.
     
  17. Tdeath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    1.4 here and after hibernation ( no flying for 3 months ) took it to 5 km( my best ) to test battery an controller range and there was no difference :)

    Btw why you guys keep updating firmwares ? And always coming up with new problems ? If you're having drifting, its flying sideways, flying upsidedown, falling from the sky problems it means its a hardware problem ( slightly bent propellers, bad imu calibration, not understanding what makes a compass fail, flying on auto discharged battery, or the whole thing needs replacement )

    Piece of advice: never update firmware beyond 1.4 ( it was the firmware with the best features and every fw that came after it started to cripple the drone a bit by bit to the point of crippling or frying on board electornics imo and my experience )

    In other words the p3 was perfect to begin with, best long range in its class and very dependable and capable but only lacked some automated modes that got introduced in 1.4, i kept updating till 1.6 and then i saw how thier strategy was going with cutting max alt, autonomous missions range on litchi getting less and less etc. So reverted back to 1.4 and stayed there.

    I will understand updating if a new firmware will bring new features such as ( magical object avoidance , object tracking etc)

    But to fix an extisting hardware issue with your platform with a fw update its ( usually pointless and will introduce more trouble )

    Anyways each to his own

    Note : everything i said in my post only reflects my experience, opinions and my findings on this forum.

    Happy flying everyone :)
     
  18. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I have NEVER udated my firmware and I get 15000 feet range before I have to return due to low battery.
    I can live with my tilted gimbal lol.
     
  19. Tdeath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Exactly what am talking about, 5km with severe stuttering live view, 4.5km with almost ok live view. Oh well the titlted gimbal shows smtimes but rarely ( much much more often on my OSMO with the latest fw, but there is a trick to fix that ;)

    Btw what fw and rc are you ?am on fw 1.4 and gl300a rc.
     
  20. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I had a 300A which gave me 10500' range. The USB port suddenly stopped working no warning at all. I swapped it out for a 300B and saw an immediate increase in rage to 15000 feet plus.

    Firmware I think is 1.19