Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Pro Gimbal gone haywire

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Incognito, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. Incognito

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    California (originally Hereford UK)
    ok so turned George on last night to download the video/images i took yesterday evening and the gimbal is now doing this



    the only thing i can see what i think is different is that the gimbal cable appears to be split

    https://www.flickr.com/gp/21222901@N06/214XbU

    any ideas?

    is this back to DJI?
     
  2. Ken Cruise

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Winston-Salem N.C.
    Yeah you need to send it in. Mine did the exact same thing but have not got a diagnosis.
     
  3. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    We call that the Harlem Shake.
     
  4. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    Mine is doing the same exact thing. There are enough problems matching that if this was a car, it would be recalled!
     
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You definitely need to send it back for repairs. When did this happen? Is it a new P3? Did you ever fly it?
     
  6. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    pitch or roll sensor board has a bad potentiometer. easy fix with either replacement.
     
  7. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,144
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Give us more clues or how to do it at home?
     
  8. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    you will either need to replace P or R sensor board or re-solder a new potentiometer on the board(s).
    if you are good at soldering then later will be the cheapest but you will also need to get a new potentiometer.
    first start with identifying which sensor board it is so you will need to take the whole gimbal apart to get to P sensor board.
    R is easy because it is in the back so it's a matter of taking 5 screws out and make the measurements.
    in the middle position it should read between top connector and bottom 1 about 3.5kOhms. same for value between top connector and number 3 on the bottom.
    if you have some crazy values in MOhms than that is your problem.
    if not get to the P sensor board and repeat the measurements. it's one or the other.
    looking at your video i would say it is P board.
     
  9. mike gentry

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help!
    I have identified a bad potentiometer on my r sensor board (its open). Do you have a part number, or know where I can purchase a new potentiometer?
    Thanks
     
  10. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    I have R boards available for $60.
    Let me know if you want one.