Phantom 3 Pro for sports & fun

Reaction score
I'm a tech geek at heart, but with my current fast paced life I don't have too much free time to mess with stuff. I also like to do a lot of 'extreme' sports. I was thinking about getting the Phantom 3 pro to play around with and to record things like wakeboarding.

I had a couple things I wanted to clear up before I buy it.

1. How easy it to learn to fly proficiently and get decent footage (with minimal editing). I'd love to spend a bunch of time messing with it, but I just know I won't be able to dedicate as much time as I would like.

2. What are your opinions on using it to record wakeboarding on the lake? The boat is going ~25mph so it should be able to keep up easily, however I'm really worried about the fact that its over water. Anything happens and its going straight down into the water!

3. I've watched a ton of youtube videos of the drone recording. It seems like a lot of the videos have some SERIOUS choppiness. The resolution is great but it's almost hurts the eyes to watch the videos. It's most definitely not my computer as its very powerful. I thought it might be youtube, but doing a quick google search brings up a lot of old threads. It seems like many people had this issue and it was mostly associated with the 4k recording. Has this been solved since then?

4. Money is not really an issue, but at the same time I don't like to spend more than I have to on toys. I was thinking about going the craigslist route, but since I don't have any experience with drones I have been hesitant. I don't know what to look for in a 'bad' drone. I could probably save $300+ or so by getting ones with alot of extra goodies already. Do you recommend I just buy new for the warranty though?

Thanks!