Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Phantom 3 not balanced in mid-air

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by TheFilmSquad, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first flew my Phantom 3, it worked perfectly fine. When it was mid-air and I let the controls go, it would stay still with ease. Then out of nowhere on one random flight, it started to be unbalanced. It would sway back and forth, then take slightly drastic dips downwards and upwards. I contacted DJI, they said "nothing is wrong with it" when obviously there was, and then I ultimately sent it back and paid for the shipping (which I really should not have needed to do), and got a new one... which out of the box, had the EXACT same problem.

    Here is a clip of it:

    They have been the WORST at responding to emails, and they pretty much can't be contacted on the phone, so I really would like help.

    Yes - I updated the firmware properly.
    Yes - the propellers are attached properly.
    Yes - I did the gimbal calibration successfully, along with the IMU calibration.
    No - there is NO wind at all when I'm testing it
    No - there are no weird poles, electronics, etc. when I'm testing it. I'm in my backyard in the middle of a huge plot of grass.

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated, as this has not worked properly for almost 3 months now...
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Looks pretty locked in--- in the video-- may be some movement -- but nothing of a serious nature.. IMO there will be some more chaps weighing in
     
  3. Christophergh

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    How many satellites do you have?
     
  4. AmirChar

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Redmond Washington
    try turning the VPS off in the app and see if it changes anything.. just curious if the VPS is triggering the bird to go up and down?
     
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    To me it looks and sounds like the VPS issue that was introduced with FW 1.2.x. Solid as a rock before, drifting and losing altitude afterwards. Most people with the issue turned off their VPS until it was fixed with FW 1.3.2 and VPS could be enabled again.
    I see the green banner on your screen, so it appears you are not in ATTI mode. I would look at the VPS first.

    You said that you updated the FW but you didnt say to what version.
     
  6. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    9
     
  7. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    turned off VPS, still had the same problem. Turned it back on, same problem :(
     
  8. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have v.1.3.20
    VPS on and off has the exact same issue. I also just tried flying in ATTi mode (A) and I've always been flying in (p) mode. ATTI was actually worse. I flew it up, then it started going straight down until I corrected it.
     
  9. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's definitely, definitely not locked in at all. It's swerving, dipping, correcting itself left and right. It's incredibly obvious to me, as when I had it at first, it was perfectly fine. Anyone who owns one should know how stable it is when it's hovering.
     
  10. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Take it up to 15 feet and put the camera strait down to see the actual drifting. It will likely be stable there.
     
  11. TheFilmSquad

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually did this yesterday (a friend recommended a similar thing). It still does the same thing.