Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 Battery Firmware update Clarification

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by TYCORP, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. TYCORP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    BC , CANADA
    According to the upgrade instructions.

    "Updating Intelligent Flight Battery Firmware


    The Intelligent Flight Battery is upgraded during the aircraft firmware upgrade process. It is recommended to keep the upgrade

    package files in your SD card. The upgrade will start automatically after power cycling the aircraft."


    I updated the Aircraft Firmware with battery #1.
    do I assume Battery #1 was also upgraded.
    what about battery #2,#3,#4?

    Leaving the Firmware on the SD card root and powering on the phantom with batteries 2-4 will upgrade the batteries automatically or????
    (I've done so an there are not visual\audio alerts to tell you a upgrade has happened)

    Any clarification would be helpful.

    TY
     
  2. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    No firmware for the batteries has been released yet.
     
    Julius717 likes this.
  3. Steve Shead

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    From what I've read on the forums you leave the .bin file on the root of the SD card, and fly with you other batteries installed. They will be updated while you're flying. I haven't tested this theory personally, but I've read it a lot here.
     
  4. Steve Shead

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    So - I decided to test the theory. I put a battery that needed a firmware update in my Phantom, then put the .bin file on the SD card and put it back into the bird. I went through the usual startup checklist - you can hear the SD card reading - left it running for about ten minutes then powered everything down. I took the SD card out and went through a normal startup - the firmware message on the DJI app was gone. Hope that helps.
     
  5. mvzuilekom

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    You have to do the same procedure as with updating the P3 itself:
    Power up the P3 while NOT having powered on the remote- (or flight-) controller. If the controller is on, the P3 will abort firmware intallation because updating firmware while flying would not be a good idea...
    If the battery has an older firmware you will start hearing the four short beeps repeatedly until it finishes updating (only a minute or two) and changes to repeatedly a short and a long beep. Cycle the power on the bird and you're ready to go, or do the same for another battery.
     
    clivek_77 and Steve Shead like this.
  6. Steve Shead

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    That's a better way of doing it - thanks for the tips. Mine worked but I definitely get your caution.
     
  7. mvzuilekom

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks Steve,

    I just did this myself today with 3 batteries after having powered on the P3 with the controller off.
    This is something I would would have done with any traditional RC helicopter setup, but knowing the P3 will never fly off with a definite signal from the controller, I just did (should not do this by default from now on since I'm returning to flying heli's...).
    The reaction from the P3 with its beeping just immediately explained to me and let me realize the actual simplicity of when the P3 would accept an update. Unfortunately DJI could have explained this in more detail in their manual. Also, I got a message in the pilot app telling me that a firmware update was nescessary. No...., only for the battery. Why not add a few ascii characters to the message to tell this?

    Anyway, after having read some threads about people not knowing for sure if the battery would get updated and what procedure would take care of this, I read this thread, decided to signed up to comment and there you go.
     
    Steve Shead likes this.
  8. MHaerialphoto

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    CA
    Just a slight bit of info. When I just did my two new batteries, having the controller on had no affect.
     
  9. FredzMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    121
    Is there a way to check battery version somehow?
     
    sonof40 likes this.
  10. Manoel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    Hi guys. I'm new here.
    I updated the firmware ( 02 brand new batteries) as you mencioned but the message on the screen of my controller still shows "Firmware require update / Battery require update ".

    What should i do now ?

    thanks for helping me
     
  11. Manoel

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brazil
    *requires
     
  12. Toph

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Did you ever find a solution for this? I'm having the same problem
     
    Brad Barcus likes this.
  13. firepol

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Hi there,

    I just updated my drone. I have 2 batteries, when I inserted the 2nd battery it told me battery require update as well.

    I copied the firmware (the .bin file) in the sdcard and turned on the aircraft with the other battery.
    It did the upgrade again and finally it worked. So it seems you need to do the same procedure for every battery. Just leave the bin file in the sd card and turn it on, the drone will do the upgrade automatically. cheers
     
  14. hanezu86

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just put new battery in and wait about ten minutes, gimbal light just blink red!? I turn of the bird and tested dji go app, it shown new firmware update 1.680.. I have that firmware allready . App and battery is working now but im still confused is the battery working fine?
     
  15. Nuno Barreto

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    39
    I have a P3S on firmware 1.5.7. I don't want to upgrade to 1.6.8.
    If I get a new battery, assuming it asks me to update the firmware, can I force it to update to 1.5.7 by just placing the .bin file for 1.5.7 on the sdcard ? Thanks.
     
    RSV_Ecosse likes this.
  16. RSV_Ecosse

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland UK
    I'd like to know the answer to this too. Just received a new battery for my P3S and don't want to update to 1.6.8 as I'm also currently running 1.5.7. What is the procedure for that? Thanks!!
     
  17. Nuno Barreto

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    39
    I have since upgraded to 1.6.8 by mistake (long story) had the same issues a lot of people had with range and downgraded back to 1.5.7. I have had no issues with batteries and I actually don't know what firmware the batteries have right now. So I'm thinking it really doesn't matter.
     
  18. RSV_Ecosse

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Scotland UK
    I'm still on 1.5.7, charged up and fitted my new battery on Sunday and had no firmware issues, battery worked fine and it didn't need firmware upgraded etc.

    Sent from my Hudl 2 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. jasonb2909

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wonder if it will affect the batteries from banggood, many say thy haven't had issues but we will see