Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 advanced came with 2 gimbal dampening holders not 4

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hasan Ahmad, May 26, 2015.

  1. Hasan Ahmad

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    30
    so the p3a I got have 2 vibration dampener holders you know not the white one but the stick that goes through it. Is it normal ?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    Yes ... it's normal to have TWO anti-drop pins
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Mine came with 2 installed, and 2 spares. I just assumed they needed to be installed, so mine has 4 on it.... is this wrong?
     
  4. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Yes, that's wrong. You're supposed to use 2 and keep the extra 2 as spares.
     
    jlo likes this.
  5. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    What's the purpose of only 2?
     
  6. Pumpfixer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    I have all 4 in... No issues
     
  7. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    These anti drop pins are so that if there is a failure of the white gimbal mounts, the gimbal won't fall off of the Phantom. They're like a safety chain on stage lighting. DJI says you only need two in place at at time. I'm quite sure that installing four would not affect anything significantly (except for a very small increase in the weight of the Phantom which would be negligible).

    Chris
     
  8. Agent Wimplo

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is it possible to remove the extra 2 to save them if you accidentally put them in?