Phantom 3 Advance - My thoughts for what its worth

Reaction score
Hi All. I have owned my new Phantom 3 for over a week now and after a fair few flights I have come to the following conclusions when compared to my last machine, a Phantom 2 Vision

Build quality - This is certainly better put together than my P2V, especially the motor windings which were a complete mess on my P2V
Camera - No more fish eye! Looking back at my old videos I dont know how I put up with it. I am no expert here but there seems to be a noticable improvement in quality too.
Range - This is totally amazing, even my CE European restricted bird will fly as far as I dare, currently up to 4500ft away with full signal still showing. My initial concerns about CE v FCC restrictions are completely unfounded. It seems that battery life rather than actual control/fpv range could be the main consideration for a long flight, especially on a breezy day.
Controller - Much better quality & functionality. Seems to get many flights out of a single charge too.
FPV - To me this is what the Phantom 3 is all about and is my main reason for buying. Boy am I impressed with Lightbridge, it is the answer to our FPV prayers. It works so consistently well over such a long distance that I must applaud DJI for getting it just right. Over 3 x the pixel count of a P2V+ at over 3 times the distance. The phantom 2 is, by comparision, a total dinosaur.
The App - Head and shoulder above the P2 App in every way

Dislikes

VPS - I just dont trust it. I dont feel in complete control near to the ground as it will occasionally make movements/adjustments that I dont expect so it puts me on edge. It has been disabled in the settings!