Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 3 - 8700 Foot Flight

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by tcope, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    This is the furthest I've flown my Phantom 3. Several people have flown further but pretty good in my book. I kept in few things of interest (at the 2:25 mark)

    I found that my P3 gets _much_ better reception when it's facing the transmitter. You will see this in the video with annotations. It's also interesting that it appears I get some interference at one certain location. As I fly past this location the signal gets better.

    On my return flight, through that location of interference, I lose only my video feed. The Pilot app gives a pop up warning about this and gives me the option to RTH. I accept and it starts to fly back. The video feed is no longer working but you can see the P3 move on the map. There is also an "X" on the left side of the screen. This is to cancel the RTH. I do this and it works perfectly.

     
    Advexure likes this.
  2. Advexure

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA - New York, NY - Sheboygan, WI
    Thanks for sharing. Glad to hear RTH worked as it should! :D Safe and happy flying!

    -Dan
     
  3. Clampit

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    That's some distance, nice one;) good to see all the software working as it should;)

    Nice reassurance:)
     
  4. MADrone

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    USA
    How does one record the pilot screen app on an iPad Air 2 while flying?
     
  5. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I don't know Apple apps but I know that there is at least one screen recording app out there.
     
  6. Clampit

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    You could use a screen recording device like "shou" for your iPad, not used it but it was recommended to me.

    To take a screen shot of the pilot app that's on screen...

    Press the on/off button on top of your iPad at the same time as pressing the home button, this will take a screen shot & automatically put in your photo app.
     
    #6 Clampit, Jul 13, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2015
  7. MADrone

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the tip on "shou"...I'll check that out.
     
  8. Clampit

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    No problems, let me know how you get on cos I also need to download it.
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,648
    Likes Received:
    5,702
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I had to enable assistive touch on my Ipad when I used it . Was a pain to me so I deleted it .
    Does work though once ya get used to it .