Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Vision failed to fly

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by jaddy, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought phantom 2 vision and assembled it according to the given instructions. However, it failed to take-off. The propellers are working fine and with full throttle but it wont lift from the ground. Can someone help please.
     
  2. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    I don't know if it's even possible to do but are you sure you put the props on meters correctly?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes i did according to the given instructions. Clock-wise and anti-clockwise. I dont know where i am going wrong. Please help
     
  4. oztrk

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Push the throttle fully up for about three seconds. Or control your battery charge level.
     
  5. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hmm... Battery is fully charged? You can hear the motors pick up speed?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  6. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    the battery level was three levels and fourth level blinking. i could hear the propellers picking up speed.
     
  7. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yeah but did you fully charge it or did you put it together and try to fly it out of the box?
    Just sounds to me like it didn't have enough power to actually fly if everything else was setup right. Can you post a video maybe?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  8. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I charged the battery but not fully charged it. The battery level showed three green lights and fourth blinking. i will try to post the video in a day or two.
     
  9. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    You should always let the batteries charge completely or you'll damage them.
    I understand being excited to get it in the air but a damaged battery can cause big problems! Lipo batteries are can be very sensitive!

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  10. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should i try it again with battery fully charged?
     
  11. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Have you calibrated the controller with the RC assistant and then again in the Phantom assistant?
     
  12. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I calibrated it using the given instructions. I switched the S1 knob upward and backward rapidly and when the yellow light comes i rotate it horizontally till the green light appears then did the same verically. thats all i did.
     
  13. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    If I was you I would plug the control in and run the RC assistant and update the firmware if needed. Then do a calibration of the sticks in the RC assistant.

    After that I would run the Phantom assistant and perform any software updates and then do a stick calibration in the Phantom assistant.

    Sounds to me that your not getting full range of the throttle stick for take off. A 3/4 charged battery would not stop it taking off.
     
  14. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm. Thanks for this suggestion. How can i do this calibration? Plug it with laptop using USB cable? and where can i get the software needed to calibrate?
     
  15. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    I take it you have read the manual? ;)

    http://bit.ly/1lyQZYM

    If on Windows you will need to install the driver and then install both the RC and Phantom assistant.
    The RC assistant runs with the controller plugged into the computer (you will have to open the controller to access the USB port).
    The phantom assistant runs with the Phantom plugged into your computer.
     
  16. jaddy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    lolz. yea I just read the manual. i hope calibrating solve the problem.