Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Vibrating in air

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Skylineman, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. Skylineman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I just got a P2V, H3-3D and Lightbridge from DJI. I have Hero 4 inside.
    I installed things and just had my first take off with this one. It was like 1 minute...

    I went off and the whole bird started vibrating so hard. I came in and took a video about it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8_G7nPvMY0

    Do you have any ideas what it could be?

    Thanks in advance,
    Marcell
     
  2. scubari

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Few options..check your gains in assistant software & adjust if necessary. Bad props.Unbalanced engine/s. Good luck with troubleshooting :)
     
  3. Skylineman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    How should I set up the gains? I don't really have clue about it...
    The props are just unboxed and I tried other ones not work... If you're think about bad motor, could that be?!
    What do you mean by unbalanced engine? I just installed the gimbal, lightbridge unit gimbal receiver inside the phantom. What's all I modified.

    Any other ideas?!
     
  4. derrickduff

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you update to most recent firmware and calibrate the IMU?
     
  5. Skylineman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah.
    I have everything on the latest. You can see here: http://c.skylineman.com/1ek6E/3yG0nxfN
    The H3-3D Gimbal is on 0.6.

    I just removed it from the drone and the vibration stopped. It's so strange... Could that be, because I use it with Hero 4?

    Thanks!
     
  6. derrickduff

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does weigh 14g more than the H3 which is what that gimbal is made for. I recently found out the USB will power the GoPro without a battery. The battery weighs about 25g, so without it you are 11g short of what the H3 weighs. You could try running it without the gopro battery and see if it continues to vibrate.

    Just to add to that I'm not sure how being under weight will affect the gimbal, possibly the same as being over weight. I use an ND filter which is roughly 10g. With no battery and the filter I come in right around 73g, almost exactly where the H3 is. A US quarter and nickle weigh 11g. Maybe tape those onto the H4 to make up the weight.
     
  7. Skylineman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the info. I checked without battery. I may can I it's less shaky. But not sure...
    I'll try to put on my polarizer to see how works. May I ask if you can help me with gain settings?!

    Thanks in advance!

    Btw it's exactly 74g with my polarizer.

    Update: It's still bad :/
     
  8. Spetter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What rubber dampers are using?

    I used once the black soft ones and that made the phantom wobble.

    Using the white or hard grey ones solved it.
     
  9. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,788
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Put the white dampening balls on. That should fix your issue.
     
  10. Skylineman

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    WoW, thanks so much! It looks like working well.
     
  11. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    So, which of the suggestions fixed it for you?
     
  12. Loaderbull

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I had the same problem, changed from the soft dampers to the harder ones, grey i think, this solved the issue.
     
  13. badbrad97

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. changing the gimbal rubber to the stiffer ones will fix it.
     
  14. mdrolando

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know its an old tread but i have the same issue with my phatom. I currently have the black gimbal rubber. I will try the white ones and see if it helps