Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 version 3 gimbal help

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by plymouthphantom, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have just bought a Phantom FC40 and my dad has just bought a Phantom 2 version 3, with the latest transmitter, new motors etc.

    On the phantom 2 v3 is it possible to fit a gimbal other than the zenmuse one and still have it work as it should and have 7th channel control using the wheel on the TX?

    Have read many contradictory things!

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Can be done but you will need a steep learning curve.
    Your best bet would be to get the zenmuse. Its a simpler conversion.

    Here is a link on the good luck buy on a non vision p2
    viewtopic.php?f=26&t=32664&start=10

    You will need to know what cables go into the wifi for video, which cable to intercept for the power, you will need to know which cable goes into the f2 port in the naza for tilt.

    Read here and you'll find that it has been done.
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthre ... 815&page=6
     
  3. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    It's a phantom 2, but the latest revision so version 3. It runs on 2.4ghz control. It is *not* a vision or vision plus.

    I can connect it up no worries. It's wether it behaves itself as it should do and how (or if it's possible) to adjust settings to make it work.
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    It behaves like it should.

    In regards the newer upgraded phantom 2's..
    In the vision 5.8 ghz range:
    Ver1 = Golf ball camera.
    Ver2 = Original Vision plus with 3 axis.
    Ver3 = Vision plus with upgraded 2312 motors/esc/tilt dial.

    In the normal (non vision) 2.4 ghz range
    Ver1 = Phantom 2
    Ver2 = Phantom 2 with upgraded 2312 motors/esc/tilt dial.

    Therefore you have the P2 Ver2.
     
  5. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    The poster above is correct. You have a Phantom 2 version 2.0 - there is no version 3.0 for the non-Vision Phantoms.
     
  6. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the v3 denotes the latest motors etc and latest TX set with the gimbal wheel?
     
  8. plymouthphantom

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC

    I don't know if they're lying or just mistaken. There are only TWO versions of the non-Vision series Phantom 2... the v1, and the new "v2" which has the upgraded motors and RC with the built-in battery and little wheel to control the gimbal.
    There is no Phantom 2 v3

    There IS a Phantom 2 VISION+ version 3.0. As you hopefully know the Phantom 2 VISION series have a built-in gimbal and camera, basically they are for folks who don't want to mod or tinker with their systems at all, and are willing to sacrifice video quality for simplicity and a pretty app.

    I'm afraid I don't know the answer to "will a different gimbal work with the wheel on the new RC" question. I personally recommend sticking to the Zenmuse gimbals on a Phantom 2 since they were designed to work properly together
     
  10. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    There is some confusion because there are several versions of P2NV:

    P2NV for H3-2D v1(small hole)
    P2NV with P1 stuff convertion called v1.5
    P2NV for H3-3D v2 (bigger hole) for some people, v1.x for others (I'm using x, don't know if there is any number for this v)
    P2NV improved v3 for some, v2 for others.

    So, read carefully the description and the pictures if you are going to buy one.

    HTH
     
  11. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    I'm trying to be friendly so please don't take this the wrong way, but I humbly disagree with some of your statements. There really is no such thing as a Phantom 2 version 1.5 ... there is a Phantom 1 version 1.5, which is a gen1 Phantom, completely different than a Phantom 2. Googling "phantom 2 1.5" only returns results for the Phantom 1 1.5. my point is, a P1 with conversions to some P2 equipment is still a Phantom 1, not a P2.

    You're correct that there were different versions of the Phantom 2 v1, the early version for the H3-2D didn't have a hole in the body to accommodate a H3-3D, but since the H3-3D became the standard kit all P2's do indeed have that hole, but there was never any designation between those models... at least officially by DJI. If some random vendors wanted to start making up version numbers that's on them for broadcasting bad information... but DJI officially only has a v1 and v2.

    anyway, it's not that big of a deal... I DO completely agree with you about carefully reading descriptions and fully understanding what you're buying before you pull the trigger! :)
    I'd append that to include buying from a major, well known vendor like B&H or even Amazon where at least you're sure to get the right part.
     
  12. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    Officially, there is NO Phantom 2 non-Vision version 3 from DJI. I don't believe there is an unofficial P2 non-Vision v3, either.

    What QYV reports is correct.
     
  13. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Don't worry, never would take it the wrong way, glad that is clearer now, even for me, ;)
     
  14. thunderbird2

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm This is confusing now,
    I have been looking at ebay adds from sellers here in Australia and they all state they are selling the latest version Phantom 2 V3 (yep the one using the gopro) and it can be bought with either a H4 OR H3 gimbal (your choice).
    Thats the confusing part, you see I want to buy one as I assume it would have all the best of all the P2 bits with most bugs ironed out of it.
    I had a Phantom 2 Version 2 (the first one with upgraded motors and controller with the green lights) It was sooo much better than my original P2. Now I want to buy another one but cant seem to confirm if the V3 really exists or not.
     
  15. TeamYankee

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales, UK
    From what I can see the (unofficial) versions are like this...

    Phantom 2 original (v1 - h3-2d compatible - no clearance hole for H3-3D)
    Phantom 2 original (v1) (But with minor changes - such as the hole for the H3-3D gimbal - so lets call this V1.5)
    Phantom 2 ver 2 - upgraded bits, with new controller.

    Alternate gimbal?

    Take a look at the DYS 3axis - Here's a video of it on the Phantom 2.


    They work, but need additional setup (PID settings - google it)

     
  16. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi Thunderbird 2, If you are in Sydney try Camzilla in Lindfield they will look after you and answer any questions.

    Johnbig
     
  17. thunderbird2

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey mate thanks for that, Im in Victoria but will call them tomorrow and find out if a V3 exists.