Phantom 2 v2.0 specific upgrade questions (to P3pro, P4, I1)

Which would you upgrade to for the work described above?

• Phantom 3 Professional

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Phantom 4

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Inspire 1

• Other option?

• Total voters
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I currently have a Phantom 2 v2.0 with a Zenmuse h4-3d gimbal kit for a GoPro Hero4 Black. I transmit video down to a 7" Black Pearl monitor for FPV. I record using the video feature only in 4k quality.

I work as a Fire Investigator and use the drone for recording videos of fire scenes from elevated locations or locations where it is unsafe to walk/enter. Sometimes that means flying high above to get a image 300+ feet above a site, and other times that means flying a few feet above the burned out roof of a home or apartment building (as seen in the images below). That could mean very little hazards if I'm filming at a distance, or the potential for multiple hazards if I'm flying close.

After reading up on the Phantom 3 (Professional), the Phantom 4, and the Inspire 1, it appears that they all have the ability for the pilot to control the operation of the camera while flying. Starting, stopping, switching from video to stills, etc; all while keeping a video feed active. For those of you who don't know, the GoPro Hero4 Black does film in 4k resolution, but in order to get a live feed (FPV), the camera needs to be in video mode. If used in any other mode, such as Timelapse, then the live feed doesn't work. In my line of work having the ability to take single stills, or timelapses, or videos is much better than just having to pull those out of a video in post processing. Not to mention, all the images I get have the "GoPro fisheye" look. As I'm not supposed to be editing the images (evidentiary reasons), I have to leave the fisheye appearance in.