Phantom 2 V+ or GoPro; how did you decide?

Reaction score
I'm brand new to this and have yet to purchase my unit. Last time I flew something was 15+ years ago in the world of RC planes -- I was never an expert or even very good at it and gave up the sport after I killed a plane or two o_O

I do not own GoPro but wanted to get the Hero4 Silver to use for other things as well.
The reason I'm looking at going the GoPro route is for cost savings; if I'm going to purchase GoPro anyway, it seems like a good idea to save some money.

Is there a reason NOT to get the Phantom 2 with the 3-axis gimble and use GoPro?

I also have no idea (yet) what's the difference between Zenmuse H4-3D vs. H3-3D Gimbal.

If I posted this in the wrong section, my apologies. I'm still trying to get my head wrapped up with all the different versions/options. Admins, please move is see fit.

Right section :). The only difference is cost. With a Phantom 2 and gimbal + the gopro, + the FPV system (this allows you to see what you are filming in real time) you are looking at a more expensive kit than the P2V+. Honestly, I would just buy the P3. It has 4k and everything you need included.

Jacob, thanks for replaying so quickly.
This P3 complicated my decision for sure.
I was ready to pull the trigger last night on the P2 and then I ran across the P3 announcement.
Now I think I'm going to have to wait and get the new toy -- I mean tool
Would you recommend the 4K vs the 2K camera? Why?

If you go with 1080, you will be good for about a year, but if you go with 4k, you are future-proofing. You could keep the P3 for 3-4 years.

I did the GoPro 4 on the P2V+ mod. Best of both worlds. 0M2Q1294-3.jpg

I did the GoPro 4 on the P2V+ mod. Best of both worlds.View attachment 17173

Same but with h33d gopro3+. Best!

You have a lot more faith in my flying abilities than I do