Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Mode vs NAZAM Mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Fdnyfish, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    I just got a phantom 2 and I see that in the assistant software you have the option of selecting Phantom 2 or NazaM mode.

    I guess the NazaM mode will let the controller and Phantom 2 act like a phantom 1.

    But what does Phantom2 mode do?

    I see NormalFLY... is that GPS MODE?
     
  2. Morgan 1983

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Coast, New Zealand
    I've got a PV but I'm guessing the software will be fairly similar. The phantom 2 mode is just the normal mode (up/down/ yaw / left/right forwards/backwards)
    The Naza mode enables return to home on command, heading lock and home lock which you probably already know about.
     
  3. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    morgan is right. phantom 2 mode is for your right out the box basic flyer.
     
  4. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    Thanks for the confirmation.
     
  5. Skipholiday

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    Should the PV2 be switched to naza/m mode for the return to home feature to function?

    I thought that worked in either mode.

    Whats all the differences in normal P2 mode and naza/m mode?

    Is it best to switch to naza/m?

    The manual does not elaborate only saying it is for experienced user or guided by a professional.

    Seems if it gives more control it would be safer to fly.

    Could anyone elaborate on this please..??

    Thank you
     
  6. GMANNZ

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand

    The RTH mode will work if lost signal etc as failsafe .... but in NAZA you can set it as an option along side, GPS MODE, ATTI, MANUAL MODE switching ...

    If new (as I am) MANUAL mode is not something your really going to use straight off, so most reset toggle instead with GPS Mode->>ATTI Mode->>ATTI mode or set switching options to .... GPS Mode->>ATTI Mode->>FAILSAFE mode

    Is personal preference really to flying style, experience and/or paranoia when things go wrong :)
     
  7. Skipholiday

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Anchorage Alaska
    So in reality there is no difference except when s1 is switched? I think I'm confused ::-/ thanks for the help

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  8. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    If you want to enable the different modes on S1 and S2, you need to change from Phantom to NazaM in the assistant software. It will beg and plead for you not to do this. It will warn you of impending doom, but the only differences I have noted are that the blinking light sequences are different (they are same as P1) and you get the modes on S1 and S2 which in Phantom mode do pretty much SFA. In NazaM, they do a LOT!

    DJI really needs to make this much more clear in their documentation.

    Also, now that you've enabled the switches, you need to pay close attention to them! Twice, I went into manual mode inadvertently (S1 pos 3 for me is manual and not failsafe.) Nearly pooped my pants. Was convinced I had experienced the dreaded fly away which fortunately ended only meters away. When I looked down and saw S1 all the way down, I started cursing... at myself. Thankfully, the only thing hurt was my ego. So maybe that's what the "Don't do it!" warnings in the software are all about.
     
  9. Suggy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Please excuse my ignorance, but if I do not set NAZA m mode and I end up in poo I can turn off my remote and qaud will return home?

    Plus I am unable to get into the NAZA mode as I have apple mac etc and no software for this

    Unless someone knows of a link?


    Cheers


    Suggy
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The RTH feature that's triggered when you turn off the controller (or otherwise lose signal) will work without you having to enable anything in the software.

    However, it's a good idea to get familiar with at least the Phantom Assistant, even if you don't need the more in-depth features/settings in the NAZA-M mode. The Mac version can be found about 2/3 of the way down this page: http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-2/download
     
  11. Kelso Kubat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, CO
    my Futaba came programed in Phantom 2 mode. I just switched to NAZA M today am am going to test tomorrow when its not windy.
    Basically the only difference between the 2 modes on my controller is activation. in phantom 2 IOC is not activated, in NAZA M i can now trigger Course and Home Lock...
    Pretty simple. :shock:
     
  12. Sledge

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    3

    And Atti mode as well
     
  13. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Phantom2 vs NazaM modes are not configured on the controller. The mode is set on the Phantom through the Phantom Assistant. Your controller is sending the same signals in either case. Switching between Phantom2 and NazaM modes simply changes how the Phantom reacts to them.
     
  14. Kelso Kubat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frisco, CO
    now that you've enabled the switches, you need to pay close attention to them! Twice, I went into manual mode inadvertently (S1 pos 3 for me is manual and not failsafe.) Nearly pooped my pants.

    First thing i did was switch my s1- pos 3 from manual to a second ATTI mode. might use it as a second failsafe later :shock:
     
  15. derrickduff

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I'm mistaken but the Naza/m mode will also allow two additional features, the Home lock and Course Lock feature. Home lock, not to be confused with RTH will force the Phantom to fly directly back to it's home point when the left stick is held down. This is good for when you're flying LOS and have lost orientation of the Phantom. Course lock will maintain the Phantom flying in a straight line. For example, you want to fly parallel to a vehicle while it is moving.
     
  16. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Pretty much, except it's right stick... pull all the way down on the left and it won't come home in any sort of good way! :)

    Home Lock and Course Lock are pretty much as you described (video in my sig on "What is IOC" gives an explanation of the two modes and how they differ) - although remember that Home Lock needs both a home point stored and sufficient satellite reception when you activaet. If you fly into a sat deadspot and flip into Home Lock to come back because you've lost visual then it's not happening...