Phantom 2+ H3-3D with Phantom Vision Functionality

Reaction score
Hello All

Yes, I am new to the Phantom and QuadCopters but have been a tech junkie for a long time. Have been reading posts here for about two weeks, and joined the forum recently. A big thank you to all for the wonderful and informative posts and responses.

We are looking to purchase the Phantom 2 with either the Zenmuse H3-2D or H3-3D gimbal using GoPro Hero 3+ Black. We would like to have the same control and FPV functionality as the Phantom 2 Vision. Not sure how to proceed. Have done mods in the past but was hoping for an easy solution. Currently using iOS devices (iPhone's and iPad's) so would like to use those for FPV and flight data links (as the Vision does).

We are retired but still continue to do graphic art/design and photography and want to add this to the mix.

Ease of use is important because we have local high school students that wish to explore this also in thw High School video production course.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated

Fred R

Its not really going to happen with the Non Vision. You don't want to run any wifi with the Phantom 2 with gimbal.

In a nut shell…….
You can either get the Vision for ease of use, FPV thru iPhone etc…. or get the Phantom 2 with gimbal for go pro and purchase extra components to have FPV

Hey Fred,

You definitely don't want to run any sort of WiFi link in addition to the Phantom's own connection with its transmitter. That goes for anything - FPV or not. If you do go with the GoPro Hero3+ Black Edition, people have talked about going to great lengths to ensure the WiFi is disabled on it before getting the Phantom off the ground. Just a word of warning on that.