Phantom 2 + H3-3D question

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to drones and aerial photography.
Since we do short wedding movies for our clients, some aerial shots will really make it more interesting.

So, we are in the market right now to get one for our DSLR or GoPro Hero 3 Black.

DSLR drones are wayy too expensive, so I might just have to settle with the DJI Phantom model.

Im just confused, which one to get actually :

Phantom 2 + H3-3D Gimbal and use my GoPro 3 Black

or

Phantom Vision Plus with Integrated camera and gimbal

From what I read is,
GoPro footages are with more details and color profile is good, than the Phantom Integrated camera.
I would never want to risk my footages and repent in the end, so Im thinking to settle with the Phantom 2 + H3-3D Gimbal and use my GoPro 3 Black.

What do you think ?
What would you suggest ?

And if I get this, can I use my iPhone and the DJI app to see and frame in the real time ?

Or is this feature only supported for integrated camera ?

In my opinion I think your best option would be the H3-3D w/ GoPro 3+ but it is going to require you to spend some extra money and effort to add the FPV capabilities. (Video transmitter / receiver, monitor, iOSD, etc)

The new Vision+ would be the easier option as it has the FPV 'built in', but I think the GP3+ is a better camera and will give you more control/options in post.

Beyond that, be aware that there is still a lot of grey area in regards to use of UAVs for commercial purposes. If I were you that would be my first priority. Do some research and see if you think it is legal for how you will be using it.

I see.
In that case, its best to simply go ahead and get the Vision+ which has the integrated camera.

Just need to wait for the low light or evening footages examples with Vision+.

Once I see them, I will decide.

So what would you suggest ?
Just the Phantom2 with gimbal and attach GoPro ?

Isn't the extra accessories too much to setup or adds to expenses ?