Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 & Gimbal H3-2D

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by stewdaddy, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. stewdaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a Phantom 2 and Zenmuse Gimbal H3-2D. I have all the latest firmware for Main Controller(1.08), Receiver-Phantom 2(1.0.0.0), P330CB(1.0.1.19), Gimbal CMU(1.0), Gimbal IMU(1.8).

    My first question is regarding the picture I have attached here, do I have the Gimbal mounted correctly onto the Phantom 2? I finally saw a video that has the "updated" mount and it appears I should move it back to be more centered on the base?

    Second question: Do I need to take any steps or configure anything in Naza M mode of the Assistant Software before 1st flight? Is the phantom automatically in GPS mode out of the box, do I have to actually "turn it on". Do I need to take any steps(other than calibrating the compass in the field) to make the Phantom "return to home" when I go to fly it?

    I definitely do not want to fly in "manual mode" just yet, what steps do I take to not fly in manual mode?

    Issue I am having with Gimbal tilt control with X1: When I first installed the Gimbal, the tilt lever control on the back of the D6 controller was tilting the Gimbal beautifully, slow and easy. Now, after updating everything, when I move the tilt lever it shoots the gimbal angle from one extreme to the other(downward), there's no stop in between. I have tried adjusting the Manual Control speed, Servo travel limit pitch, etc. No changes happen when i adjust any of these things.

    Forgive me if I am asking any "simple" or "obvious" questions, I am rather new at this. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated! I want to get this thing in the air, I just want to cover ALL my bases before I do.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dave_milne

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    Dunno - my H3-2D looks different to yours, and is mounted differently. This page has a video to what mine looks like and how it is installed (http://www.dji.com/tutorial/phantom-2-tutorials/). Did you get one specifically made for the Phantom 2 ?
     
  3. olly3010

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue and was scratching my head for some time. This is what I did to resolve the X1 extreme tilt issue. Update the controller using the "DJI Phantom RC Assistant", once the update is complete run the calibration in the same software. **Also take note of the instructions when updating, its explain the steps to follow - would have saved me some time :?

    Once updated connect your phantom 2 to the "DJI Phantom 2 Assistant" and update the Gimbal and then recalibrate the controller using the "DJI Phantom 2 Assistant". GOOD LUCK!!
     
  4. stewdaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have found plenty of information on that particular mount. Apparently DJI is now sending the H3-2D units with this mount (see attached) as kind of an "all purpose" mount to fit numerous quadcopters......at least that's what the guy at hobby shop told me, can't find anything to confirm this though. Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  5. stewdaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I think I have already done this but I will give it another shot. Thanks!
     
  6. stewdaddy

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    AWESOME!! I re-ran the DJI Phantom 2 Assistant update and calibration.....it worked!
     
  7. neil64

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    There are two different H3-2D versions (that I'm aware of). There is the original H3-2D and then the P2 H3-2D. The original gimbal mount is parallel with the gimbal, like a +, whereas the newer P2 gimbal mount sits at 45ยบ to the gimbal, like an X. The P2 gimbal also has black instead of brass-colored metal next to the X Axis motor. Aside from the mounting setup, and the black metal, I don't think there are other differences, but I don't know for sure.

    Original Gimbal:
    [​IMG]

    Phantom 2 Gimbal:
    [​IMG]
     
  8. olly3010

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    Good to hear