Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 flying

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by terrygar, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. terrygar

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello I have a Phantom 3 advanced that is currently being repaired at DJI California. I found a phantom 2 I can use while mine is gone.
    I guess the phantom 2 does not have a DJI interface on the tablet like the 3 does , because this one does not have a camera, it has a go pro mounting place I think.
    How does the pilot know elevation, battery health, safe to fly, etc.... with a phantom 2???
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,597
    Location:
    US
    You need to install DJI Vision. It's not as advanced as DJI GO, so many of the bells and whistles are going to be missing.
     
  3. terrygar

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    untitled.png untitled.png untitled.png
    Here is a picture of it
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,597
    Location:
    US
    Your photo is tiny :)

    DJI Vision is the app to use for all P2 models.
     
  5. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    You'll need GoPro , transmitter , receiver/monitor , iosd , some wiring or a hub kit .
     
  6. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,005
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Without a 2nd transmitter, you'll have to fly old school.

    Do you have a usb port? If so, the app msinger provided in the link above will help you with your battery and other things.

    Be sure you have a good home point. After you turn the battery on, I would pick up the aircraft and walk it around a little bit so GPS can reassess your location. You're more likely to get a good home point that way.

    Good luck!
     
  7. terrygar

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I picked the phantom up today and it is the first phantom after all, it flew good, motors made alittle noise in the wind, but good.
    Now it came with a camera included image and no details or manuals. How does the camera work, does it plug into the plane when hanging off the mounting to the plane or do you pick up the video thru an app. Also my phantom 3 has the dji app on my tablet and I can see the elevation, safe to fly etc of the plane, how do you calibrate the compass in this model?? Or is it always fly by sight and the camera is always on taking shots??? Help
    IMG_20160307_151230652.jpg IMG_20160307_151219465.jpg IMG_20160307_151201833_HDR.jpg
     
  8. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    No it's not. It's for the Phantom 2 Vision (+). There is no app for the P2 non-vision.

    OP, that looks like an FC40. I think.
     
  9. terrygar

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says on the box phantom FC40, is it too old to have any good points?