Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2, flying without H3-3D question

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by donkclarke, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. donkclarke

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    Hi Folks,
    New owner of a Phantom 2, after a bit of advice if possible :)

    I have flown smaller quads for a while and have now decided to step up a size to something that can carry my GoPro.
    Before I commit to sticking the camera onto the gimbal and sending it up on its maiden flight without knowing exactly how it will handle, I was wondering if unplugging and removing the gimbal below the dampers will have any negative effects, or stop it from working completely?

    I apologise if this has been asked before - I tried the search function but no matter what combination of words I typed in, they were too common?

    Cheers and beers to you all!
    Matt
    :cool:
     
  2. p fandango

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    i flew mine at first without the gimbal, simply took it out of the box & flew it like that a couple of times
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    613
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just make sure you give her all the time in the world to get the green gps aquisition flashes. Last thing you want to do is fly ATTI into a tree.
     
  4. Great Pumpkin

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Santa Barbara County, California, USA
    And another tip, donkclarke,
    Best to search using Google. Just put Phantompilots into the Query line followed by the topic you want to search. Works much better than the forum search engine.
     
  5. donkclarke

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    Thanks for the replies, first flight was a success!
    Will strap the GoPro up this afternoon, giving the batteries some juice at the mo.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Phantom flying without Forum Date
Phantom 4 Pro – Gimbal Guard Causing Flying Errors Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Jun 16, 2017
My Home point changed whilst flying with my Phantom 4 pro plus Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Jun 13, 2017
Watch "Dji-phantom 3 flying with litchi" on YouTube Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 8, 2017
Won't connect to osmo after flying phantom 3 pro Pro/Adv Discussion May 29, 2017
Phantom4 PRO shut off while flying and crash to the ground Phantom 4 Pro Help May 22, 2017