Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 - First Flight Problems

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by bushell, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm having a bit of a nightmare at the moment, and haven't had my first flight as of yet :(

    I have the Phantom 2 with the H3-3D Gimbal using a GoPro.

    I first powered my Phantom up and I was just getting 2 yellow lights flashing, and no GPS data in the upgrade section of the app. I opened it up and the GPS cable was not connected, so I connected it and now it says the hardware id and firmware id, but no loader information.

    it's still saying yellow, but I realised this could be because I am in-doors. Anyway, I went in the garden, and then it goes to flashing green - but never to solid green?

    It says for me to pull both right and left levers down and then inwards, but the right lever seems to be controlling to gimbal.

    Any idea how to get it to go solid green, and is my controller correct for the right lever to be controlling the gimbal (as well as the side wheel thingy).

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's like it is not unlocking for some reason?
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    Sounds like some confusion there.
    You won't be able to use the app with the P2 - it's for the Vision and the 2+
    The right lever doesn't control the gimbal - but the gimbal may move slightly in responds to input on the levers.
     
  4. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, when I say app I mean the app for the Mac and Windows PC

    Phantom 2 Assistant Software v3.6

    and

    Phantom RC Assistant Software v1.2

    It's like I can't get the drone to unlock, i push inwards on both levers :(

    A green flashing slow light is correct?
     
  5. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Green flashing slow is correct. So the motors don't start when you push sticks in and down? Calibrate controller in RC Assistant and again in phantom assistant.
     
  6. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just calibrated again, I have done several times now - the gimbal is working with the controller. it just seems to be getting the thing to start its engine :(
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    +1
    There is 2 pieces software you need to run.
    Do the remote assist first.
    Then do the phantom assist.

    The camera will move if the left (yaw) stick is moved. This is your 3rd axis stabilisation compensating for yaw (some videograpgers don't like it as the yaw doesn't stop where they want it to stop).
     
  8. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the responses - really appricate it.

    I have re-calibrated both using the RC app and the Phantom app. Still no joy
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Do you have the new version 2 phantom with the tilt dial on the remote? Make sure you are in MODE 2.
    The left stick need to click all the way down.
     
  10. bushell

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found the issue, on the command stick calibration, one of the options said rev instead of normal :S
     
  11. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Glad u got it sorted
     
  12. Hammer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Vancouver
    flashing yellow is return to home mode. its a communication issues between your readio and phantom. run the assistant software and make sure all stick are working properly. once it is working, make sure to give it time to acquire a full signal and recalibrate your compass if its your first flight and if you go to different places to fly

    hope this helps, have fun and fly safe
     
  13. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I think you're a year late to the party. Don't you?? [​IMG]
     
    #13 jason, Feb 12, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
    Qoncussion likes this.
  14. Hammer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Just trying to help. He's probabley not the only newb on this site looking for information
     
    Mark Rowe likes this.
  15. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    True. But did you look at the date the OP posted that question? It was posted Dec 20, 2014.
     
  16. Hammer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Yes I noticed that after I posted. Sure the post is old but you replied to it didn't you Jason ?
     
  17. Bob Mador

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Crete, Greece
    It may have been an old, out-of-date issue... but by his replying to it, the subject was bumped back into sight for new members that may have had some questions answered :)
     
  18. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Did it answer all your question? Great then if it did.