Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Assistant Update

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by BMEWS, Apr 6, 2014.

  1. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
    Just doing some PM's and upon plugging the P2V into the PC I get the message that there's a firmware update V3.0 available.

    NOTE

    There's a warning about updating the P2 to this firmware revision and the upgrade advises that you have to update the Assistant software to V3.0. This update is NOT YET AVAILABLE. Please be aware that updating your P2 or P2V to the latest firmware using the v2 software assistant could cause problems.

    Hope this helps

    Bmews
     
  2. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Yep -- there's a thread where someone did it.. and seems to have problems...
     
  3. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
    I almost did it myself. Until I stopped to re-read the warning message. It's pretty clear that there's a mismatch if you upgrade using v2 of the assistant. THe download link takes you to the DJI site where there is NO UPDATES over and above v2.
     
  4. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Not for nothing, but... WTF is DJI doing putting software out there that'll be seen by the Assistant and not having the necessary version of the Assistant available with which to install it? This is just plain asking for trouble. Sloppy.

    -slinger
     
  5. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    ... and you are surprised at dji doing this because....? :D
     
  6. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Yeah... good point... :) :D :lol: :roll:
     
  7. johnbowen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes, it was 5 am where I swat is, while on vacation in Hawaii. Without thinking (too early, late night) and I hit update. It went through the update, but now mismatch. A bit frightened to try and fly it. OTOH, if it flies away I can make a claim w my insurances (I have a high value floater that covers a bunch of really expensive still photography, and now aerial photography gear).
     
  8. Stufft

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    To late for me, I updated the firmware to V3.0 - that'll teach me to read tthe warning message. Hope V3.0 of the assistant software comes out soon and I can sort it.
     
  9. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Rule #27 -- never update firmware until someone else has been a wind dummy with it... :)
     
  10. KG4MXV

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    A a rule of thumb I always wait to update anything 2 weeks after the release date.

    And let some one else be the guinea pig.
     
  11. Stufft

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Thank you for the sage advice ;) , I got carried away updating stuff, did the android update first then plugged the phantom in, merrily updated then ran into problems when I went to calibrate Tx.
     
  12. gofaster2win

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I upgraded with out looking...seems my range is very very limited now 200 ft or so. Hopefully DJI will release a new update. Any thoughts to reload the 2.0 Version?
     
  13. BMEWS

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire UK
    I'm not sure you can "downgrade", because (and I could well be wrong) doesn't the firmware log in to DJI ? I guess, you'll have to await the release of the V3 assistant, then upgrade that and run the firmware upgrade again?

    I could be wrong though.

    Bmews
     
  14. GetaGrip

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
    Yup just joined the club :x
     
  15. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Me too. I finally got around to plugging in my new Phantom 2 Vision that I received on Wednesday. I really wasn't paying attention since I was just checking to see if it came with the latest firmware etc. I saw there was a upgrade so i did it.

    Say's it's on the correct version in the Assistant, but I also get a mismatch error. I did take it out for a flight and it took off and just starting drifting to the right. Did not have much control. was able to land it and that was it. Kinda pissed that they would release a version of firmware without the proper tools to install.
     
  16. Stufft

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    I've managed to roll back to version 1.08, calibrated and all seems ok but not had a chance to fly it. There doesn't seem to be any way of getting back to V2.0 so I'll stick with 1.08 in the mean time.

    btw I used this link to get back to 1.08 http://bradatech.com/xPedRobo/shop/index.php?main_page=page_3
     
  17. johnbowen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    29
    Only one more day left in Hawaii, so I flew it. Recallbrated compass, fired it up and let it idle. Had wife go through all the positions on the stick as I held onto it. No problems. At Sandy Beach on Oahu, big waves, but big wind too. Easily double overhead sets.

    Took it up, no problems despite gusting 35 mph winds. Was able to get some great footage of surfers. I was able to maintain 20 feet above the surfers, despite strong gusts and winds being blasted by the waves. Figured if it took a dump or flew away then it would be a great excuse for the P2v+.
     
  18. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Downloaded Phantom Assistant v3.0 and all is good now. Have to take her out for a test flight. No more errors about mismatched firmware.