Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 2 Assistant Software v3.8 screen size on windows 10

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by dmagnus, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    I have a laptop with Windows 10 when I run the Assistant Software, the window is so small that it is unreadable. It can't be expanded. The font in the window is jammed up because the window is so small. I was getting this on Windows 8.1 too. DJI has not provided an answer. Anybody else have this problem and/or have a fix? Thanks in advance.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Mine takes up a third of the screen on windows 7 and 8.1.
     
  3. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    worked fine on windows 7, but not on 8.1 or 10
     
  4. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Are you using the same screen resolution as you were on Windows 7 or 8.1?
     
  5. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    No, but I've tried numerous screen resolutions - all do the same thing
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I have heard two different things about this... one is that it is the program itself need to be updated. Fat chance that will ever happen.
    The second is some people have said that the default font is too big for the window and that by changing your default font in the settings corrects it. Worth a try.
     
  7. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    Definitely the program needs to be fixed. I think I tried changing the fonts, but the small screen size makes it impossible to read. I'll try it again or find a computer with W7
     
  8. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I use my Mac with my P2. Maybe you have a cool friend with one who will help you out. :)
     
  9. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    Nope, I've got a W7 laptop I can do it on... Not THAT desperate!!! :eek::D
     
  10. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I understand, desperate times call for desperate measures... even if it means subjecting yourself to Windows. :D:D
     
  11. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    Loaded the latest software (from the sticky above) on my W7 laptop - works perfectly. Went back to the W10 laptop, uninstalled everything and reinstalled as above. Still tiny window. Definitely not compatible with W10. I haven't tried the compatibility mode setting yet. That might make it work, but now I really don't need it on that laptop.
    Thanks everybody
     
  12. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have you tried to resize the window in the Appearance and Personalization in the control panel?
     
  13. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    Yes, no joy
     
  14. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    For a laptop that screen is far to large even the text is to small. One other thing why does it desktop next to the search box?
     
  15. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    It's set to the recommended resolution. Everything works just fine except dji software.
     
  16. dmagnus

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    45.141598 -92.631683 Somewhere on the Apple River
    Ok, got it working on w7, don't need it on w10...