Phantom 2.15km range test

Reaction score
Here is my latest range test using my new Futaba 8FGS radio and DJI AVL58 video link.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdmxtTJh374[/youtube]

The flight was all in atti mode as I am still learning the radio and not tempted to push manual mode to these limits yet. I hit the max distance at 1:30 then just do some hole flyover practice again. :mrgreen:

I planned to do 1.5km but turned a fraction early making it only 1.45km radio was fine all the way my earlier tests I ran out a little earlier due to poor antenna placement on the tx and rx. Video link was clear but got a little noisy as I turned back and the phantom + gopro shields the vtx cloverleaf antenna.

As you can see its not the best location for max range as there are high tension powerlines near by and as I go further over the gold course I end up with an entire estate in my LOS. However on all my range test flights I have flown over the course not the estate but it ends up in the LOS as I need to avoid the powerlines down the other side.

Here is a pic of the flight and my furthest point on this flight, the course itself is only 1.3km away from me at the furthest point but trying to get there from my location is not possible due to big trees and houses getting in my LOS where I have lost the video and radio link pretty quickly at between 1 and 1.3km on other test flights.

jeor.jpg

You can see the line showing where I was and how close that is to the house and some big trees near my launch site if I head much more to the right from here the signal is lost. So I walked out a little to the left to avoid that on this flight.

Here is a pic of my setup.

6f2d.jpg

Re: Phantom 1.8km range test

The winds finally died down a little so I did another quick range test this time to 1800m.

m66n.jpg

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPk41yX-Zx8[/youtube]