Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1 with upgrade board and i osd mini

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Paul K, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I m looking for advice regarding installation i OSD mini in my Phantom 1 with upgrade board installed using DJI Y splitter hub for Can-Bus system ;or if there is another solution ? thanks for input.
     
  2. nintendrone64

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    Well, what kind of advice?
     
  3. nintendrone64

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  5. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Phantom 1 with H3-2d and upgrade board already installed. I would like to add OSD ,but by checking preview posts there is problem to plug it in. I come across with Dji product Y splitter hub for Can-Bus system and I am wondering if that could be used to get a needed port ,or the only way to solder new wires as shown in the prevues video. i was also looking at Skylark Trace IV OSD, but I don't know how difficult will be to install it?
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Are you talking about this canbus hub? http://www.atlantahobby.com/Store/pc/vi ... duct=17309

    If so, then you'll still need to add a canbus port to the expansion board before you can use that hub, which would require one of the methods in that video I linked. That hub just gives you several ports in place of just one...but you still have to have one canbus port to start with.

    You could also get a canbus port by adding DJI's PMU, but that adds weight and pointless redundancy, using the iOSD mini is the more efficient way to do it.
     
  7. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tanks for respond ,yes I was looking at that item. I thing the only way is to follow the video and create the port,buy do you know where to buy the connectors that plugs into I OSD Mini ( the guy crimps them and then using string wrap ,to tightened them together ). I was also looking at Skylark Trace IV OSD , but I don't know how difficult would be to install it.
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You can get the wires from many robotics/DIY places, here's a good example: http://www.pololu.com/category/68/male- ... mper-wires

    I haven't tried the Skylark OSD but I've heard good things about it. It should be fairly easy to connect, it comes with all the cables you should need. All you have to do is connect it to power, and to the video line between the camera and the video Tx. The drawback is that it adds a good bit of bulk because it has its own telemetry system (GPS, current sensor, etc) independent of the data produced by the NAZA.
     
  9. Paul K

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Appreciate your respond and thanks for cable link. Is there any specific no. or name of the connector/ cable for I OSD mini?
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The iOSD mini has a canbus plug on it (to connect to the one you create with the wires), and a canbus port on the side to plug other accessories in to (data link, BTU, etc). It also comes with the cables you should need to connect to the input cable on your video transmitter.