Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom 1 with 9450 phantom 2 blades

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by ullrich402, Sep 5, 2015.

  1. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My quad wouldn't fly with these blades ? They are the self tightening props. The craft would try to take off while I was not giving and commands. Not sure if there is something I have to do but I have heard of people using these on the phantom 1? Any help would be appreciated !
     
  2. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    136
    Those props should be fine with the P1. Check your idle speed setting in the NAZA assistant software and try reducing it.
     
  3. cheebs

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Was it flying properly before changing props? Are your P1's original props self tightening too? If they aren't, it may be that you have an older P1 which is not compatible with self tightening props. Changing the props should not alter the idling characteristics, but it is a good idea, as syotr already pointed out, to check or adjust your idle speed in Naza.
     
  4. Pilot_FML

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mentor. Ohio, USA
    Trying to take off without you giving stick commands has NOTHING to do with you having changed props.

    If you got the 2 CW and the 2 CCW self tightening props on successfully and did nothing else the P1 should lift off as before. Whether the props are self tightening or not makes no difference on how the P1 flies.

    The P1 taking off by itself points to something other than a prop problem.

    Explain more about what happened after you replaced the props.
     
  5. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went back to my old blades and the craft flew fine.
     
  6. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I did was tighten the props down and go for a test flight and the quad wanted to keep flying upward. The only way it wouldn't is if I was commanding it to. It wouldn't stay hovering in one position despite being in gps. But literally opened the blades out of the package and installed them and it tested.
     
  7. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    My old props were self tightening. Before the blade change it worked fine.
     
  8. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anywhere I can post a video ?
     
  9. Pilot_FML

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Mentor. Ohio, USA
    A blade change, could NOT cause an uncommanded altitude increase after installing different blades.

    You have to be doing something else different (incomplete preflight, different location that affects the barometer) or something happened (crash, etc.) between the blade changes.

    Did unexpected take offs ever happen before the prop changes?

    Why did you originally decide to change blades?
     
    #9 Pilot_FML, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015
  10. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just recently became apart of these forums and I read that the 9450s fly better than the stock props. So I decided to buy some. Literally after the failure of the first flight I immediately switch my props back to the previous pair and it flew just fine.
     
  11. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    monte55 it's clear what it is. Is there any need to ask questions with obvious answers?
     
  12. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have owned my phantom for 2 years. I am aware of the platform and how to operate it. I just am confused why there was a problem when all I did was change my props.
     
  13. SilverStone641

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Dallas
    I had a similar sounding issue when I first switched to 9450's on my P1. Turned out the spindles on my motors were stripped enough that the props would tighten to a point then spin freely. The original props were able to find enough threading to secure tightly and I never noticed a problem until I upgraded. I ended up swapping all four motors for P2V models and have been rockin' the 9450's ever since!
     
  14. ullrich402

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh man thanks I just saw this lol but I got the p3 now